Market segments:How independent developers that determine the development project

As the saying goes,A good beginning is half the battle。
I find a lot of friends to chat,He says wants independent developers,Say you have an idea or project。And so they opened their mouths,I knew he was the end result is going to vote resume。

Many independent developers from the outset doomed (more likely than others) fail。 Why do you say? Many developers try to do independent development,Finally, you find yourself doing the app with no one。Eventually leading to frustrated,Back office。

Independent developers and companies to develop different,You do independent development,Then you are a person must wear many hats,But the most essential "How to develop a software"outer,You have to be able to operate、Energy management、Marketing can、Can art、Can copy etc etc ...... so basically a "A person's company”。

So,Taking into account that we are "a people's company.",Your money is not enough,Manpower shortage,Make a long-term plan of operations is certainly the worst kind app。

Now,We talk about,As an independent developer,What app from the start to be able to let you get enough revenue to maintain the independent development。

On the current Internet,We are talking,Demographic dividend is not so big,Drained exhausted。So has anyone thought what is the demographic dividend? In fact, that is,Internet-savvy group of people,Or that our generation is gradually took to the community,And then to become a mainstream consumer societies,And this group of people,Do not have much access to the Internet is not yet a。These people are more profound awareness of the Internet,Just like people on the refrigerator、Like washing machine,The commonplace,You look for investors,That people do not invest in your project and because of the "Internet" take sides put money on the fall。- Look on the bright side,It is because of the acceptance of the Internet,People are willing to pay for quality content or a service。

For example, the Internet is now very popular "a reward" such behavior,In fact, a post-paid premium content behavior,Many users are willing to pay for their favorite article (here also it relates to reflect user behavior,We talk about follow-up);Another example of this was a lot of free input method is now joining seeking a reward entry,I believe that soon they will consider a paid version ...... rely on advertising revenue,I do not think it can earn enough pocket money,Let alone rely on him to full-time work。

So when we understand the current situation of today's Internet,How to make a targeted deal with it?

Market segments

Independent developersFunds limited manpower shortage,In fact, they are very difficult to go toA wide range ofThe service users - at least the vast majority of independent developers do not have this capability。At the same time adapted to the vast majority of people something,Certainly not a good thing。A belt tight Baba independent developers,Where is the money to develop one million、Million level of the project? Realistic,As a person,Start small in fact, is a more practical choice。

Now willing to quality service、Internet users pay for content gradually to take to the mainstream of society,Then the future of the Internet will eventually go in this aspect of development。However, users are willing to pay for content or services Why it? These things must certainly not something,Now the Internet is not something,Why are those who still want to buy you? From a market point of view,We just need to find a need in the luxury consumption,Looking for a small minority among the general public,Look for the same in different。

Take everyone not refuse a market - in terms of music (I'll use health care you have to say I bully people),You do a music radio app (I will not speak copyright issues),Some people do not end up using。

We look from the perspective of market analysis,You worked so hard,He made a nice、Easy to use online music software,Why is no one with a few months later? First of all,Your songs have always charge software、Local advertising,Because this is basically your life,This will be stuck out most of the users。

Although I say this unashamedly Internet users increasingly willing to pay for the content,But I can not say now is。This is a so-calledtrend

The remaining users will eventually realize watercress、Netease、QQ and other such online music app is easy to use than your whole song also - also for free! look,Your users will be so lost out。If you are unfortunate that rely on advertising revenue or membership,Then congratulations,You can consider going to vote resume the。

- this is a fact,You did an almost everyone lingua franca of the music app,Then died。Because you this app for users too broad,You are born dry, but manufacturers。Users do not have any reason to use your app,When you establish project,Must so consider:Users what reason I really give,Let them non-use my app not it?

Now let's change strategy,Give up most ordinary users do not want to pay,Then those forced lattice higher user、Willing to pay for legal music users like to listen to what song? For example,,Europe、Japanese descent、ballad? This side,We chose the last example child,How about Chinese folk? I'm not familiar with the music industry,But I still know,Things Chinese folk is not a very fire,But it has survived a handful of people in,People like it like the incredible,I do not like to think that is not music。

So you do online music app a special use for folk fans,Inside collect all (as much) folk music (the same,We assume that you finally solved the copyright issues),Now,You will find that although the sharp decline in the number of users,But your income is barely had arrived living expenses each month of the。 You see,We just put a for everyone with、No pay reason、Dry, but manufacturers app,He made a small number of people just to be,Perhaps the market online to listen to a lot of music software,But it specializes in folk on the few,It is subdivided into Chinese folk do? Koko。

Now the Chinese Internet is just like a sensible xiaonianqing,A wide variety of users,Everyone has reasons for the Internet but are not all the same,They hope to find different friends of their own in the vast sea。

Look different in the same years,So small indeed fortunate to survive,survive,It is the first step in the development of independent。There are many examples like the ballad of the above app,In fact, if you carefully,You will find that there are too many small minority of direction over the Internet in fact is simply blank,Although these things very simple,Very small,But because manufacturers are born to the demographic dividend,They do not want to serve this part of the user,Then this is the direction for our independent developers,We can not afford to go in millions、Million level to provide users with so-called "free" service,But we have the ability to provide quality for these niche users、Stable good software,a softwear,Thousands of users,Four or five thousand fast income,Is no pressure。

Simple little way

Here I have a simple little way to determine whether your target market can provide enough income for you:
First of all,Your target market is definitely "people";
then,Preceded defining adjective,For example, people in school - students;The people who work - social groups;To others who see a doctor - a doctor ......
This is not enough,Careful again,For example, university students;In people writing code to work - Programmer;Open his own clinic doctor ......

This is not enough,To be more careful,For example, students at the University of entrepreneurship;Just go to work recruits programmers;Open his own clinic psychiatrist ......

It is not enough,Then carefully, For example, want to make their own app business of graduates;Just recruits have a steady income but not satisfied with their ability programmers;He made his own clinic psychiatrist counseling ......

Such a write side I think you will say:I rely,That such a person can have several!

Yes,It is less,These people are a small minority,They in society is so small and vulnerable,Just serve these people,We will be able to bring a good income for you,If it is high-quality、Stable service - for example, is a very efficient software,Then these minority groups will not just need to pay for their Internet it?

Next

In fact,Factors affecting the income of full-time independent developers and many,In addition to selecting the right direction,On subsequent software development、Operations、After sales,All need to pay attention to the links,Behind Article,We chat together again,How to work hard in the software,What are the three elements of a piece of software is designed,How to use these three elements allows the users themselves happy - this is why the independent development of the most essential skills。

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » Market segments:How independent developers that determine the development project

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/2747.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

3 comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

细分市场:独立开发者该如何确定开发项目

俗话说,好的开始是成功的一半。
不少朋友找我聊天,说想做独立开发者,说有个想法或者项目。等他们一开口,我就知道他最终的结果是去投简历。

很多独立开发者从一开始就注定会(比其他人更可能会)失败。 为什么这么说呢?很多开发者尝试去做独立开发,最后发现自己做的 app 根本没人用。最终导致心灰意冷,重新回到了办公室。

独立开发和企业开发不同,你做独立开发,那么你一个人就要身兼数职,除了最必备的“如何开发一款软件”外,你还要能运营、能管理、能营销、能美工、能文案等等等等……所以基本上就是一个“一个人的公司”。

所以,考虑到我们是“一个人的公司”,你财力不够,人力不足,做一个长远打算的运营类 app 肯定是下策。

现在,我们就来谈谈,作为一个独立开发者,该从什么app下手才能够让你得到足够维持独立开发的收入。

就目前互联网,大家都在说,人口红利没那么大了,榨干了耗尽了。那么有没有人想过什么是人口红利?其实就是说,熟悉互联网的这一批人,或者说我们这一代人正在逐渐走上社会,进而成为社会当中的消费主流,而这一批人中,已经没有多少是还没有接触互联网的了。这些人对互联网的认知更加深刻,就像人们对电冰箱、洗衣机一样,稀松平常了,你去找投资人,那投资人也不在会因为你的项目和“互联网”搭边就一股脑投钱了。——往好的方面看,也正因为对互联网的接受,人们也愿意为优质的内容或服务付费了。

比如说网上现在很流行的“打赏”这种行为,其实就是一种为优质内容后付费的行为,很多用户愿意为他们喜欢的文章进行付费(这里还涉及到了用户行为反思,我们后续再谈);再比如很多曾今免费的输入法现在也加入了求打赏的入口,相信不久他们也会考虑出收费版……靠广告营收,我不认为现在还能赚够零花钱,更别说靠他来全职工作了。

那么当我们认清了当今互联网的现状,该如何针对性的做出应对呢?

细分市场

独立开发者资金有限人力不足,其实他们很难去为大范围的用户提供服务——至少绝大部分的独立开发者没有这个能力。同时适应于绝大多数人的东西,一定也不是什么好东西。一个腰带紧巴巴的独立开发者,哪里来的资金开发百万、千万级别的项目?现实一点,作为一个人,从小处着手其实才是更实际的选择。

现在愿意为优质服务、内容付费的互联网用户逐渐要走上社会主流了,那么未来互联网终将会往这个方面发展。但用户愿意为什么服务或内容付费呢?这些东西肯定不是必须的东西,现在网上什么东西没有,为什么那些用户还是要买你的?从市场的角度来讲,我们需要在奢侈消费中找刚需,在大众中寻找小众,在相同中寻找不同。

就拿一个人人都不会拒绝市场——音乐 来讲(我要是用医疗你们得说我欺负人),你做一个音乐电台app(先不说版权问题),最终不会有人使用。

我们就从市场的角度分析一下,你辛辛苦苦,做了一个漂亮、好用的在线听歌软件,为什么几个月后根本没有人用?首先,你的听歌软件总有收费、广告的地方,因为这是你生活的基本,这一点就会卡掉大部分的用户了。

虽然我这里大言不惭说互联网用户逐渐愿意为内容付费了,但我可没说现在就是。这是个所谓的趋势

剩下的用户终究会意识到豆瓣、网易、QQ等这些在线听音乐的app比你的好用歌还全——还免费!你看,你的用户就这么流失掉了。如果你很不幸的是靠广告或者会员营收,那么恭喜你,你可以考虑去投简历了。

——这就是事实,你做了一款几乎人人都能用得上的音乐 app,然后死掉了。因为你的这款 app 面向的用户太广泛,你是天生干不过大厂的。用户没有任何理由去使用你的 app,在你确立项目的时候,一定要这么考虑一下:我究竟要给用户一个什么理由,让他们非用我的app不可呢?

现在我们来改变策略,放弃大部分不愿意付费的普通用户,那么那些逼格比较高的用户、愿意为正版音乐付费的用户都喜欢听什么歌?比如说,欧美、日系、民谣?这里边,我们选择最后一种举例子,中国民谣怎么样?我对音乐行业不熟,但我还是知道,中国民谣不是一个很火的东西,但它一直在一小撮人里存活,喜欢它的人喜欢的不得了,不喜欢的认为那根本不是音乐。

那么你做一个专为民谣爱好者使用的在线音乐app,里边收集所有(尽可能多)的民谣音乐(同样,我们假定你最终解决了版权问题),现在,你会发现虽然用户数量急剧减少,但你的收入却勉强可以抵得了每个月的生活费了。 你看,我们就这样把一款人人都能用、没有任何付费理由、干不过大厂的app,做成了一小部分人的刚需,也许市面上在线听音乐的软件很多,但专门提供民谣的就很少了,那再细分到中国民谣呢?科科。

现在的中国互联网就像是刚刚懂事的小年轻,用户各种各样,每个人都有上网的理由但都不尽相同,他们更希望能在茫茫网友海中找到属于自己的不同。

在相同里找不同,这样才能小确幸的存活下去,生存,是独立开发的第一步。像上文民谣app的例子还有很多,其实如果你细心,你会发现其实有太多小众的方向在互联网上其实根本是空白,这些东西虽然很简单,很微小,可是由于大厂天生为了人口红利,他们不愿意去为这部分用户提供服务,那么这就是我们独立开发者的努力方向,我们没有能力去为百万、千万级别用户提供所谓的“免费”服务,但我们有能力为这些小众用户提供优质、稳定的好软件,一个软件,几千个用户,四五千快的收入,是没什么压力的。

简单的小办法

这里我有一个简单的小办法来判断你的目标市场是否能够给你提供足够的收入:
首先,你的目标市场肯定是“人”;
然后,在前面加限定形容词,比如 在读书的人——学生;在上班的人——社会人群;给别人看病的人——医生……
这还不够,要再细致,比如 大学的学生;在写代码的上班的人——程序员;自己开诊所的医生……

这还不够,要更细致,比如 在创业的大学的学生;刚上班入职的程序员;自己开诊所的心理医生……

这也不够,再细致, 比如 想自己做app创业的大学生;刚刚入职有稳定收入但对自己能力不满足的程序员;自己开诊所做心理咨询的心理医生……

这样的侧写我想你一定会说:我靠,那这样的人能有几个!

没错,就是要少,这些人都是小众,他们在社会中是那么的渺小和弱势,光是为这些人提供服务,就一定能够为你带来不错的收益,如果是优质、稳定的服务——比如就是一款很好的效率软件,那么这些小众群体会不会为他们的互联网刚需付费呢?

下一步

其实,影响全职独立开发者收入的因素还有很多很多,除了方向选对,后续软件开发上、运营、售后等,都是需要去注意的环节,后边的文章,我们再一起聊一聊,如何在软件上下功夫,设计一款软件的三要素是什么,如何利用这三要素让用户自身感到快乐——为什么这才是独立开发最必备的技能。

“细分市场:独立开发者该如何确定开发项目”的2个回复

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注