Categories
Mac OS Exchange of Experience

OS X open RamDisk to accelerate as Safari and Xcode

With the upgrade version of Xcode,speedMore slowly,In particular, Yiyanbuge "Whiteboard"I believe we will have problems encountered。

Xcode recurring loss of code highlighting,Commonly known as "white."

This is the very thing affecting development efficiency。If it is possible,Then we will Xcode cache file into memory,It should be much faster speed。(Although rmbp of ssd have a very fast,But compared to memory,Or far worse -For older machines for mechanical hard drives,Speed ​​will be more apparent。

- Remember the RamDisk Windows do? In fact, there are Linux,And does not require third-party software,A built-in command can be done!

Our goal is to set aside part of the space from memory,Formatting a hard disk mounted to it which system,Designed to put the cache!

Must pay attention to

Since it is a memory,So be sure to shut contentLoseof,So we just use it to storeCan regenerateCache,They can then download the content should not be placed inside。For example, in the helpd OS X Help files downloaded,Should not be placed inside

Your memory is how much total space,Volume of hard disk memory allocation size should be changed accordingly,After all, the memory of a fixed planning to go,For example, I used here is 1GB,So my original 8GB memory size becomes 7GB。

DIY

Open the OS X built-in script editor ,Create a new document,Other default,Then write in it:

Then save it as a .app format:

Save the script as an application

Double-click execution can automatically mount called "RamDisk" of the hard disk,The hard drive contents will be cleared after the computer reboot,Size is 1GB,If you put it launched,So things will be lost inside,So be sure to store cache files。

After generating,We have to replace the cache over other applications,Xcode for it,You can directly within the application,But here we use a unified alternative ways catalog,Some benefits are not supported configurations such as Safari ,We can also manually put it into memory cache directory replacement,Transparent to the application。

Here we replace three applications,First, they quit:Safari Chrome Xcode

Then delete the cache directory applications:

These are the files in the directory can be deleted at any time,You will be automatically re-establish open,Your data will be lost。

Then according to our well-established catalog in memory hard drive to create a directory link,Just like in Windows shortcuts,But much more useful than that:

This directory is replaced by a set of permanent,So,We should also make this memory hard drive mounted automatically at boot time,Then only need to "System Preferences"among-"Users & Groups”-“Log Optionsapp files created before "was added to。

Delete and restore

If you want to delete the entire program,You only need to go to the following link directory to delete files created,Then remove the startup items like scripts:

Performance and results

If you just do a general Xcode development,So 1GB of space should be sufficient to use the,As a result of the speed will be much faster Xcode,No longer so easy to whiteboard。Other,For Chrome and Safari effect is very obvious。

If you're like me to switch back and forth more often use Xcode development projects and compile,You may experience space stuffed,At this time you should pay attention to this "memory disk" will not release their own space,So to go in manually delete the cache files generated about Xcode,Then compile。

On the bright side,Even regenerate the cache file,Speed ​​is still faster than the solid,Will not reduce the life of the hard disk read and write。

 

Further reading

How to make Xcode speed read and write 100 times on?

Open native Mac OS X comes with virtual memory disk (Ramdisk)

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » OS X open RamDisk to accelerate as Safari and Xcode

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/2725.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

5 replies on “OS X open RamDisk to accelerate as Safari and Xcode”

Excuse me, May follow suit and produce ramdisk browser with cache folder, While deleting the hard disk cache folder, But after the actual opening browser, But it is simultaneously written to the hard disk and Ramdisk same data, Hard disk equal to or written to be used as cache, Why not just have information ramdisk fishes?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

OS X 开启 RamDisk 来为 Safari 和 Xcode 加速

随着 Xcode 的版本升级,速度越来越慢,尤其一言不合就“白板”的问题相信大家都会有遇到。

Xcode 经常性丢失代码高亮,俗称“白板”

这是非常影响开发效率的事情。如果有可能,那么我们将 Xcode 的缓存文件放到内存,速度应该快很多。(虽然现在 rmbp 的 ssd 已经十分的快速了,但比起内存,还是差的很远——对于机械硬盘的老机器来说,提速就会更加明显了。

——还记得 Windows 的那个 RamDisk 吗?其实 Linux 也有,而且不需要第三方的软件,一条自带的命令就可以完成了!

我们的目标就是从内存里划出一部分空间,把它格式化为硬盘挂载的系统当中,专门用来放缓存!

要注意的地方

既然是内存,那么关机内容是肯定会丢失的,所以我们仅仅用它来存放可以再生成的缓存,可以再下载的内容也不应该放在里边。比如 OS X 里的 helpd 下载的帮助文件,就不应该放在里边

你的内存总空间是多少,分配的内存硬盘体积就应该相应地改变大小,毕竟将内存划走了固定的一块,比如我这里用的是1GB,那么我原本的8GB内存就变成了7GB大小。

动手做

打开 OS X 自带的脚本编辑器 ,新建一个文档,其它默认,然后在里边写入:

然后把它保存成  .app 格式:

把脚本保存成一个应用

双击执行就可以自动挂载一个叫做“RamDisk”的硬盘了,这个硬盘里的内容会在电脑重启后清空,大小是1GB,如果你把它推出了,那么里边的东西也会丢失,所以务必存放缓存文件。

生成之后,我们就来把其它应用的缓存替换过来,对于 Xcode 来说,你可以在应用里直接设置,不过我们这里统一使用目录替换的方式,好处是一些不支持配置的比如 Safari ,我们也能手动把它的缓存目录替换到内存中,对应用透明。

这里我们替换三个应用,首先退出它们:Safari Chrome Xcode

然后删除这些应用的缓存目录:

这些目录里的文件都是可以随时删除的,你重新打开就会自动建立,你的数据都不会丢失。

然后根据我们在内存硬盘中建立好的目录来创建目录链接,就像是 Windows 里的快捷方式,但比那个好用多了:

这个目录替换是一次设置永久生效的,所以,我们也应该让这块内存硬盘在开机的时候自动挂载,那么只需要在“系统偏好设置”当中-“用户与群组”-“登陆选项”里加入之前创建的app文件即可。

删除与恢复

如果要删除整个方案,那么只需要先去下面的目录把创建的链接文件删除,再去掉那个脚本的启动项就好了:

性能与效果

如果你仅仅做一般的 Xcode 开发,那么 1GB 的空间应该是足够使用的了,这样一来 Xcode 的速度会快很多,不再那么容易就白板了。另外,对于 Chrome 和 Safari 的效果十分的明显。

如果你像我一样经常用 Xcode 来回切换多个开发项目并编译,那么可能会遇到空间塞满的情况,这时候你要注意这个“内存硬盘”不会自己释放空间,所以要手动进去删除一下 Xcode 生成的缓存文件,然后再编译。

往好的方面想,即使重新生成缓存文件,速度也还是比固态要快的,还不会降低硬盘的读写寿命。

 

延伸阅读

如何让 Xcode 在读写上提速100倍?

Mac OS X 开启原生自带虚拟内存盘(Ramdisk)

“OS X 开启 RamDisk 来为 Safari 和 Xcode 加速”的4个回复

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注