Categories
Mac OS Exchange of Experience Taught you science Internet The internet

Avoid DNS leaks on OS X

Recently more and more high wall,With the relationship between fascism and the moon cake festival,Many also demolished the ladder。Even developers are also several ladders?,So,In addition to "How science online," this issue,"How to stay safe online," this issue has become more and more people can not be ignored。

I know all of you not only to use,It is a general use computer access,I think this issue should also receive attention。Everything you say in the network above all by your service provider、ISP unavoidably record ...... It was originally a good purpose - once over the network thugs attack,We can quickly arrested him - but,Once this information fall into the wrong hands,That would be disastrous。

Generally, we would like,What's that history has something important to do? As long as my account password secure enough ah! Actually,It is these information,An opportunity to hackers。Your these materials,Will becomeSocial engineeringCreative attack。

So what is it DNS leak?

Use the Internet browser,Enter your domain name will depend on DNS to translate IP address - the computer can not know what is a domain name。So,You may access the contents through the https encryption,But the same ISP can record what you visit those sites!

Even if you use a proxy to access the network and VPN,Your DNS may still be resolved locally,This will cause your hidden whereabouts becomes meaningless! - This is the number one threat to personal privacy:DNS leak

For now,When you use a VPN when,DNS should be resolved remotely,However, some providers do not support it;Also, if you usesocksproxy,Then only 5 SupportedRemote DNS resolution

Other

If you use a pac,Then you need aAccording to the domain nameTo choose instead of the IP proxy pac。- Because it will still be parsed and then determine whether you need a proxy IP。

Otherwise,You may disclose the DNS:

What is DNS leak
What is DNS leak

DNS forwarding transparent

This time it was suggested,If you use a VPN,To avoid DNS poisoning (actually leaked a),To use a third party's public DNS service,For example, Google's 8.8.8.8 ,But if your DNS leaked,Even with public DNS will not help:

DNS forwarding transparent
DNS forwarding transparent

Do you think you access to a third party on a public DNS,In fact, you still visit the ISP's DNS server。

More details about the visit leaked DNS:https://dnsleaktest.com/what-is-a-dns-leak.html

To test DNS leak,access:https://dnsleaktest.com

Use dnscrypt and dnsmasq

dnscrypt It is a project of the Open DNS,It allows you to encrypt access to DNS server,And parse domain name。If using https to access web sites。and dnsmasq It is a lightweight DNS server,We set up a local caching DNS to resolve it Reply,So we do not at the same time, repeated many times to resolve the same domain name - after all, than the plaintext encryption DNS resolution resolves quickly。

note

In fact, among the most Linux systems, dnsmasq is the default comes - it does not bloated,It will not consume much resources。

ready

In order to install and dnsmasq dnscrypt ,You need to install Xcode - we need to use Xcode comes with a number of command-line tools。

After installing Xcode,Use the command to install the Homebrew:

It is similar apt-get or yum The package manager,Once it is installed,You may need the following settings:

Slow brew update image update source solutions

Install dnsmasq

use brew install dnsmasq To install it。

We edit its configuration:

For example, the following configuration:

Then write an additional configuration: echo "conf-dir=/usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.d" >> /usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.conf To make the configuration directory to put more rules take effect:

For example, domestic Taobao, Jingdong such sites,I think you will not go Agent,So there is no need to deal with encryption,Because many domestic use cdn acceleration,We have foreign words will cause the DNS resolution went on an overseas line,Very slow。If you need to encrypt,This step can be skipped?。

Setting Start:

use sudo lsof -There is no UDP:53 or ps -if | grep '[d]nsmasq ' Dnsmasq has started to verify。

Although dnsmasq is used as the DNS cache,It is also generally used in micro-server such as a DHCP server on OpenWRT。In fact, it used more in this respect。But do not worry,dnsmasq default installation we do not open the DHCP function。

Installation dnscrypt

use brew install dnscrypt-proxy Install dnscrypt。

Setting Start:

Edit profile,The local address to listen 127.0.0.1:5355To cope with dnsmasq:

in <string>/usr/local/opt/dnscrypt-proxy/sbin/dnscrypt-proxy</string> Below this line insert: <string>--local-address=127.0.0.1:5355</string> ,Good to avoid conflict and dnsmasq dnsmasq and only allow access to it:

At last,use sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/homebrew.mxcl.dnscrypt-proxy.plist Start Service。

use sudo lsof -There is no UDP:5355 or ps -if | grep '[d]nscrypt' To verify that the service is already in force。

there is a corresponding dnscrypt dnscrypt-wrapper,It is compatible dnscrypt-proxy encryption - which means you can use it to build their own server without using public dnscrypt dnscrypt server。- This is used against DNS poisoning - you can refer to the end of "Further Reading" in the link to learn more。

Network Configuration

turn on Preferences → Advanced → Network →DNSTab ,Only fill 127.0.0.1 And save it。

DNS settings
DNS settings

verification

Use dig to verify whether the two were working properly:

 

From Denmark dnscrypt server
From Denmark dnscrypt server

Further reading

Compile and install anti-pollution dnscrypt-wrapper build DNS server

dnsmasq (Simplified Chinese)

Privacy & Security Guide on OS X

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » Avoid DNS leaks on OS X

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/1311.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

9 replies on “Avoid DNS leaks on OS X”

[…] three years ago,I wrote an article "to avoid DNS leaks in the OS X" to talk about how to protect your privacy,And to avoid DNS leaks,At that time the main technique used is actually dnscrypt-- later I gave up this program,The reason is severely disturbed public server,Configure complex high latency。Now three years later,Let's look at the latest DoT and DoH,In fact, DNS over TLS and DNS over HTTPS […]

Are launchctl load can then open another instance dnscrypt it?
For example, I would like to use the two lines corresponding to two ports
127.0.0.1:5301 — cisco
127.0.0.2:5302 — fvz-rec-hk-ztw-01

Theoretically possible,You need to copy plist,Then get rid of the port,This should be able to start two instances,I have not tried,If this is not,That should not alright,Try it yourself。
Another method is to use docker from service,In this case since several are ok。
Or write the script with the traditional way of linux :)

macOS latest system execute sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/homebrew.mxcl.dnscrypt-proxy.plist do not start to take effect,But I can access through google shadowsocksx、facebook,What happens then?Executive dig http://www.google.com @127.0.0.1 -p 5355也是connection timed out; no servers could be reached,But you can access

[…] Of course, COW is flawed,It is strange for the first site will be directly connected at least once,This will cause DNS leak,About this before I wrote a special article talked about,Not repeat them here;The second with a long time do not know my habits problem or algorithm problems,Often encounter can still walk straight Agent,Go straight to the agent;The third rule gave me written on the inside of the network configuration to ignore the agent in frame,I'll go,Although it does not matter but it looks good perverted! […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

在 OS X 上 避免 DNS 泄露

最近墙越来越高了,随着法西斯节和月饼的关系,不少梯子也被拆了。甚至几个梯子开发者也被?,所以说,除了“如何科学上网”这个问题之外,“如何安全上网”这个问题也变得越来越不可让人忽略。

不仅仅是为了你我都懂的用途,就是一般的使用电脑上网,我觉得这个问题也应当得到重视。你在网络上面的一言一行都被你的服务商、ISP事无巨细地记录着……这原本是好的目的——一旦歹徒在通过网络行凶,我们就能够快速将其抓获——不过,一旦这些信息落入了坏人之手,那将不堪设想。

一般我们会想,那些浏览记录什么的有什么重要的呢?只要我的账号密码安全就好了啊!事实上,正是这些信息,给了黑客可乘之机。你的这些材料,都将成为社会工程学的攻击素材。

那么DNS泄露又是什么呢?

使用浏览器上网,你输入的域名就要依靠DNS来翻译成IP地址——电脑可不懂什么是域名。所以,也许你访问的内容经过了https加密,但ISP一样可以记录你究竟访问了那些网站!

就算你使用了VPN等代理来访问网络,你的DNS仍然有可能是本地解析的,这将导致你的隐匿行踪变得毫无意义!——这就是个人隐私的头号威胁:DNS泄露

目前来讲,当你使用VPN的时候,DNS应该是远程解析的,但有些提供商并不支持它;另外如果你使用socks代理,那么只有 5 才支持远程DNS解析

另外

你如果使用了pac,那你需要一份按照域名来选择代理的 pac 而不是IP。——因为它还是会先解析出IP再判断是否需要代理。

否则,你就可能泄露了DNS:

什么是DNS泄露
什么是DNS泄露

DNS透明转发

这时候就有人提出,如果使用VPN,为了避免DNS污染(其实也是泄露的一种),要使用第三方的公共DNS服务,比如谷歌的 8.8.8.8 ,但如果你的DNS泄露了,即使使用了公共DNS也无济于事:

DNS透明转发
DNS透明转发

你以为你访问到了第三方的公共DNS上,其实你还是访问了ISP的DNS服务器上。

关于DNS泄露的更多内容访问:https://dnsleaktest.com/what-is-a-dns-leak.html

要测试DNS泄露,访问:https://dnsleaktest.com

使用 dnscrypt 和 dnsmasq

dnscrypt 是 Open DNS 的一个项目,它允许你加密地访问DNS服务器,并解析域名。就好像使用https访问网站一样。而 dnsmasq 则是一个轻量级的DNS服务器,我们本地架设它来缓存DNS解析回复,这样就不用在同一时间里重复解析同一域名多次了——毕竟加密DNS解析不比明文解析快的。

注意

其实大多数 Linux 系统当中 dnsmasq 都是默认自带的——它并不臃肿,也不会耗费多少资源。

准备

为了安装 dnscrypt 和 dnsmasq ,你需要安装 Xcode ——我们需要用到Xcode 附带的一些命令行工具。

在安装了Xcode之后,使用命令来安装Homebrew:

它是个类似 apt-get 或者 yum 的包管理器,安装它之后,你或许需要如下设置:

brew update 慢 解决办法 镜像更新源

安装 dnsmasq

使用 brew install dnsmasq 来安装它。

我们编辑它的配置:

比如说如下配置:

再写入一条额外的配置: echo "conf-dir=/usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.d" >> /usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.conf 来让配置目录生效以放入更多规则:

对于国内比如淘宝京东这类网站,我想你不会去代理,那么也就没必要加密处理了,由于国内多用了cdn加速,我们有国外DNS解析的话会导致走到国外线路上,速度很慢。如果你需要加密,就跳过这一步即可?。

设置启动:

使用 sudo lsof -ni UDP:53 或者 ps -ef | grep '[d]nsmasq' 来验证dnsmasq已经启动。

dnsmasq 虽然被用作了DNS缓存,它一般也会用在微型服务器上比如OpenWRT上作为DHCP服务器。事实上它在这方面用的更多。不过不用担心,我们安装的dnsmasq默认不开启DHCP功能。

安装 dnscrypt

使用 brew install dnscrypt-proxy 来安装dnscrypt。

设置启动:

编辑配置文件,把本地监听地址改为 127.0.0.1:5355来配合dnsmasq:

<string>/usr/local/opt/dnscrypt-proxy/sbin/dnscrypt-proxy</string> 这行下面插入: <string>--local-address=127.0.0.1:5355</string> ,好避免和dnsmasq冲突并只允许dnsmasq访问到它:

最后,使用 sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/homebrew.mxcl.dnscrypt-proxy.plist 启动服务。

使用 sudo lsof -ni UDP:5355 或者 ps -ef | grep '[d]nscrypt' 来验证服务已经生效。

dnscrypt 还有个对应的 dnscrypt-wrapper,它兼容dnscrypt-proxy的加密——也就是说你可以用它来搭建自己的dnscrypt服务器而不必使用公用dnscrypt服务器。——这用来抵御DNS污染~你可以参考页尾“延伸阅读”里的链接来了解更多。

配置网络

打开 偏好设置→网络→高级→DNS选项卡 ,只填入 127.0.0.1 并保存即可。

设置DNS
设置DNS

验证

使用dig来分别验证二者是否正常工作:

 

来自丹麦的dnscrypt服务器
来自丹麦的dnscrypt服务器

延伸阅读

编译安装 dnscrypt-wrapper 搭建防污染 DNS 服务器

dnsmasq (简体中文)

OS X 上的隐私安全指南

“在 OS X 上 避免 DNS 泄露”的5个回复

  1. launchctl load 是否可以再开启另外一个 dnscrypt 实例呢?
    例如我想用两个端口对应两条线路
    127.0.0.1:5301 — cisco
    127.0.0.2:5302 — fvz-rec-hk-ztw-01

    1. 理论上可以,你需要再拷贝一份plist,然后把端口改掉,这样应该能启动两个实例,我没有试过,如果这样不行,那应该就不行了,你自己试试看。
      另外一种方法是用docker起服务,这样的话起几个都ok了。
      或者用传统linux方式写脚本 :)

  2. macOS最新系统中执行sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/homebrew.mxcl.dnscrypt-proxy.plist启动不生效,但是我可以通过shadowsocksx访问google、facebook,这是什么情况呢?执行dig http://www.google.com @127.0.0.1 -p 5355也是connection timed out; no servers could be reached,但是可以访问

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.