Categories
Wordpress The internet

Avoid WordPress being used as a reflection amplification attack

Before I wrote an article,Use fail2ban Bind9 be used to prevent DNS amplification attacks,Never imagined,original WordPress It can also be used for amplification attacks,The principle is its Pingback mechanism。

Pingback is a tool for mutual notification between WordPress websites,For example, A blog refers to a link to a B blog post,Then WordPress can automatically help you notify B blog,Tell the blogger that you quoted his article。

This was originally a very good feature,But one thing-Wordpress has not done a security check for this Pingback。Wordpress will detect whether the source station is valid when it receives Pingback-this needs to communicate with the source station,But it does not detect whether the ip sent from pingback and pingback are the same ...

That is,Send tens of thousands of pingbacks containing the IP of another website to 100 WordPress,Then it can be amplified to 1 million TCP connections to that website by reflection!

This is not DDoS What 0.0

So,Still close it ...

Turn off Pingback and Trackback

Close WordPress pingback
Close WordPress pingback

Since this is closed,So if you do n’t need XML RPC for WordPress,Close it together。This RPC is used to call WordPress remotely for users,For example, a client ... If you use it,Never mind。

Close WordPress XML-RPC service

This service was actually vulnerable in the early days,Later until now,Actually XML-RPC Service vulnerabilities have already been fixed (surprisingly Pingback The loopholes have remained-for so many years ...)

In your theme's functions.php,Add the following statement to close:

Prohibit access to xmlrpc.php

If you use Nginx service,Then add in your nginx site configuration

This completely prohibits external access to this file。

postscript

If it were not for someone to come to your door and say that my blog was used to reflect amplification attacks against other websites,I really do n’t know that the security vulnerability of WordPress four or five years ago has not been fixed until now ... To be honest, this function is quite easy to use,Because of it,I caught a few guys who carelessly stole my article and pretended to be original ... 😂

Some friends also said,Disable this feature without patching this vulnerability,It ’s like a doctor treating a patient by killing a patient ... that ’s right,But considering that every WordPress update and upgrade may overwrite this file (and not necessarily fix this vulnerability),And usually I don't use this function,Just close it。

Reference links

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » Avoid WordPress being used as a reflection amplification attack

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3351.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

2 replies on “Avoid WordPress being used as a reflection amplification attack”

Hi, original author here. I am sorry I do not understand Chinese ; however of what I understand you are advising turning off the WordPress trackback mechanism altogether ?

This is not such a good idea in general, it seems to me like a doctor shooting the pacient to treat him. Instead of taking radical measures, there is a simple fix discussed in the article : simply check that the caller of xmlrpc uses the same IP as the website reported for trackback. This sterilizes the discussed avenue for amplification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

分类
Wordpress 网络

避免 WordPress 被用作反射放大攻击

之前我写过一篇文章,使用 fail2ban 防止 Bind9 被用于 DNS 放大攻击,万万没想到,原来 WordPress 本身也可以用来进行放大攻击,原理就是它的 Pingback 机制。

Pingback 是 WordPress 的一个网站之间互相通知工具,比如 A 博客引用了一个 B 博客文章的链接,那么 WordPress 就可以自动帮你通知 B 博客,告诉博主你引用了他的文章。

这本来是一个很不错的功能,但有一点——Wordpress 至今没有为这个 Pingback 做安全检测。Wordpress 在收到 Pingback 时会检测来源站是否有效——这要和源站进行通信,但它并没有检测发来 pingback 和 pingback 里携带的 ip 是否相同……

也就是说,发送上万个包含另一个网站的 ip 的 pingback 给 100 个 WordPress,那么就可以通过反射放大成 100万 次 TCP 连接给那个网站!

这不就是 DDoS 么 0.0

所以,还是关了它好了……

关闭 Pingback 和 Trackback

关闭 WordPress 的 pingback
关闭 WordPress 的 pingback

既然这个关闭了,那么平时如果你不用到 WordPress 的 XML RPC,也一起关了算了。这个 RPC 是用来给用户远程调用 WordPress 的,比如一个客户端…… 如果你用得到,就算了。

关闭 WordPress XML-RPC 服务

这个服务在早期实际上是有漏洞的,后来直到现在,实际上 XML-RPC 服务的漏洞早已经修复(令人惊讶的是 Pingback 的漏洞却一直保留着——都这么多年了……)

在你主题的 functions.php 里,加入如下语句即可关闭:

禁止 xmlrpc.php 访问

如果你使用 Nginx 服务,那么在你的 nginx 站点配置中加入

这样就完全禁止这个文件的外部访问了。

后记

要不是人家找上门说我的博客被用来反射放大攻击攻击人家网站,我还真不知道这个四五年前的安全漏洞 WordPress 到现在都没有修复……说实在的这个功能还挺好用的,我因为它,抓到了好几个粗心大意偷我文章假装原创的小伙……😂

也有朋友说,不修补这个漏洞而直接禁止这个功能,就好像医生通过杀死病人来治病……是没错啦,但考虑到每次 WordPress 更新升级有可能覆盖掉这个文件(并且不一定修复这个漏洞),并且通常情况下我也不使用这个功能,就干脆关闭好了。

参考链接

本文由 落格博客 原创撰写:落格博客 » 避免 WordPress 被用作反射放大攻击

转载请保留出处和原文链接:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3351.html

由落格博客

如非声明,本人所著文章均为原创手打,转载请注明本页面链接和我的名字。

“避免 WordPress 被用作反射放大攻击”上的2条回复

Hi, original author here. I am sorry I do not understand Chinese ; however of what I understand you are advising turning off the WordPress trackback mechanism altogether ?

This is not such a good idea in general, it seems to me like a doctor shooting the pacient to treat him. Instead of taking radical measures, there is a simple fix discussed in the article : simply check that the caller of xmlrpc uses the same IP as the website reported for trackback. This sterilizes the discussed avenue for amplification.

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注