When we talk about privacy,What in the end say?

Privacy is a very wonderful thing,When you're a person,It does not exist。

TenSteps

Today, the Internet widespread anxiety about privacy,Often someone shouting "To protect privacy," followed by ...... but some people will say "I have nothing to hide."。Faced with this discouraging reply,Privacy advocates in addition to the heart deep sense of powerlessness,There is confused。

This privacy thing,In fact, before the Internet existed,For example, the law does not allow unauthorized demolition of reading other people's letters - this is to protect your personal privacy。

Before the Internet,Privacy media communication needs,Pornographic not you want to have there,You broke out shouting,Also could not pass the cell where you are,So at that age,People rarely talk about this "privacy",There is no "leak" argument。

Three characteristics of the Internet

Superconductivity

Came the Internet age,We were talking about the Internet make the world into a "global village",In fact, this is to say the Internet is a major feature - [Superconductivity】。In fact, this feature has other names such as "Immediacy"and many more,Here we have to make you understand better,It is referred to [superconductivity],As the name suggests,Internet is like a superconductor,Any information and data you stored on it,It can be delivered to any location in a "moment",Whether China,Or the United States,Even the North Pole South Pole station。

It is this characteristic,Let the "Privacy" leaked as possible。

Virtual sex

You never write a diary on paper,Because you're afraid your secret (privacy) someday be read others - but you are willing to express everything on the Internet,Register a social network,Even opened a blog to do log。Do you not fear the whole world depends on it rape? Were not you scared,Because another feature of the Internet in protecting you - [virtual sex]。

No one knows who you are,There is the world of the Internet,You join the Internet is your own decision,Your identity is your own choice,In the "Online",Represents your,It is the account name of your choice,It is a reality and you had nothing to do avatar,You write the blog,Little secret of your heart,It may be in your friends and family,Your teachers and students reading - but it does not matter,Because they do not know you're the author。

Endurance

This should probably be changed to "sustainability",Because it does not mean that your data can not be modified permanently。But either way,all the time,On the Internet, thousands of "web crawler",In fact, a dedicated computer terminal,In aimlessly scanning the entire network,Kept between sites and sites across,They meet all the data are preserved,For future use,Such as search engine。of course,Even some sites designed to give a snapshot of the Internet to do,They will be snapshots of different time periods for Internet data,You can at any time in the future,To review a page at any point in time past in the content - even author (webmaster) has been changed or deleted them。

In addition to mention a now very popular technical terms "high availability",that is,When you create an Internet server (actually is a 24-hour networked computers),It is actually very easy to damage,Once broken,Data is lost。thenHigh availability technologyappear,People with ten、Or a hundred devices simulate a server,You upload data to the server,Who do not know it exists specifically Taichung Which in this hundred - in fact it was all devices。Once a physical damage wherein,Your data will not be affected。

On the Internet,"Delete" This operation is in some ways actually does not exist。

The new definition of privacy

Learn the two characteristics of the Internet,Since we can talk about the main topic of this article - the Internet often say "privacy",what exactly is it。

A lot of people say, "I'm not afraid of privacy is compromised,Anyway, so many companies already know. ",This is a negative attitude,This is not the focus of discussion of this article,It is another topic。In addition there are some people so counterargument privacy:"I act magnanimous,Nothing to hide。”,This is the main objective of the discussion paper,That is the new definition of privacy。

Traditional privacy

Despite the Internet,Privacy is what we say it,This is not the legal provisions on,But we believe that the definition of life,Other than general terms. "In addition to [think] I let you know what,Other things about me are my privacy. ",Of course, such a definition would be too broad a,Significance of this article would not exist。

In short,We believe that privacy is a tradition that make you do unspeakable,You'll pay for people to know these things frustrated、Shame or anger, etc.,of course,For example, you kill,This is not called privacy。So give any examples of it? For example, you are a boy,But you have to start from gender awareness,You feel should be a woman - the idea,Your privacy,You might not want people around you know;Another example is your favorite sexy lingerie,You bought a lot of fun to play wearing underwear at home,Just for fun,But you do not want your blind date or your friends and family know,This is your privacy。
There are similar Yinji、Some strange hobby、Your letter you express your cell phone number ...... these are your traditional privacy,They let people know that in fact nothing,But you do not always reluctant to let people know clearly related。

Internet Privacy

When the popularity of the Internet,Staffing a network terminal when,The definition of privacy is no longer a purely traditional privacy。Since the [virtual] protection of the Internet,You can enjoy the thrill of wantonly exposes online without fear of being around people know - even if he sat next to you,Look at your phone microblogging,But he did not know it was you。

This explains why some people do not always like circle of friends,Not like a social acquaintance,Because of the [virtual] is a natural break,They know who you are,They are your relatives and friends and even colleagues, superiors subordinates,You must be the same in real life,Cautious,To maintain the privacy of your tradition。

Any information that may associate your real identity and the identity of the Internet together,Are youInternet Privacy

Then,How to break the virtual operator [of] information? For example, you use an account abcd to speak,No one knows who you are,You are free to admit your traditional privacy,Open your own little hobby enthusiasts looking for、Yin Ji hope to open their own experience of someone who has experience to share、To open their own ballin looking for experienced people pointing ...... this is no problem,Because of the [virtual],No one knows who you are。

Even,For address,Your Job,your phone number,Can be found on the Internet (such as a map can recall any of a Chinese house number),However, due to the protection [of] the virtual,No one knows who you are,Then the information is no value - but,If someone happens to know this information is that you - that account called abcd your message?

Only think that this is a disaster - because of the presence of [persistent],You have to leave clues abcd,Have you ever speak stays there ...... I will not describe the rest of the。

Superconductivity and the power of persistence

From the example above, we can catch a glimpse of the Internet privacy - but this information,Traditional privacy is,It may not be so important。

Such as which area do you live in,The district where you find someone to say, "I live in this district.",That may be the other side will answer you, "I am also a coincidence" - then a pleasant conversation started。 But if it is on the Internet,You publish your abcd account with "I live in this district.",Then a coordinate positioning with FIG.。Then you may have a problem。

We say that the Internet virtual sex well protected the privacy of your tradition,What are you afraid of,You big exposure in the online privacy of their own traditions,It does not focus on the protection of virtual property。Once your Internet privacy is compromised - here we say leak,Because the Internet superconductivity,You reveal a single line of information,It is also the moment that spread throughout the Internet,All who care about it are readily available。

If that was not enough to catch your attention,Then,Every day, millions of Internet sites dedicated to do full snapshot,You leaked Internet Privacy,So it will probably be permanently stored on the cloud server。The result is that in the future any time,Any one person,You can easily find it。

Always remember,Your words and deeds online,It will be conducted immediately to the entire Internet,And may be preserved [permanently]。

If you do not care,Then we might therefore infer under,Virtual sex when you have the benefit of the Internet,Those published content - may also be in that。

If you think that only a data leak,Not enough to make your virtual sex is broken,So as time growth,Accidentally leaked more and more Internet privacy,Final,Advertising will come knocking fraud。

The concept of dislocation caused by fearless

When we talk about privacy on the Internet,In fact, most of the time to talk about the two concepts confused,At this time there is an interesting phenomenon,When it comes to Internet privacy,You will use the traditional theory of privacy to fight it - so naturally Internet privacy on line is not so important,Because of privacy in the traditional,Such information may say call privacy;When it comes to traditional privacy? You will naturally use the Internet virtual sex blessing to himself,You thought, "I say does not matter what online,Anyway, nobody knew who I was - well, even if they know,Nothing "。

You've been neglecting for privacy,Talk about the importance of the privacy of people who did not treat these two were,Then the final result is, "I do not have privacy,Not afraid of leaks。”

So in the end not to protect the online privacy of tradition?

want。You can choose to open the necessary traditional privacy,For example, you seek help in time of chemists。But pay attention to the information contained in the most likely to break the virtual nature of your information - such as telephone and signature on prescriptions、For example, when the mirror or selfie content on the screen, and so on ......

You have to understand,Every piece of information you publish,They are likely to be persistent and superconductivity impact of the Internet,It will always be there,Silently waiting,until one day,[Internet] virtuality this umbrella is broken,They will become sharp dagger,Pierce your throat。

Published by R0uter

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. I think the anonymity and privacy are not exactly the same thing。In fact most of the time I do not care anonymity,But I'm concerned about privacy。I do not mind other people know what I have disclosure,But my mind others not necessarily required to disclose the phone number、identity number、Personal photos and other information,I do not mind others unauthorized access to information I undisclosed,Or put my information in a manner not voluntary license to use (such as Ucloud I registered to sell a mobile phone number to send advertising messages)。

    There is a TED talk video privacy I feel very good: 《Why privacy matters》 https://www.ted.com/talks/glenn_greenwald_why_privacy_matters (Chinese subtitles)

当我们在谈隐私的时候,到底在说什么?

隐私是个很奇妙的东西,当你一个人的时候,它就不存在。

TenSteps

如今的互联网普遍对隐私焦虑,常常有人喊“要保护隐私”……但紧跟着就有人会说“我没什么好隐藏的”。面对这样的丧气的回复,保护隐私的倡导者们除了内心深深的无力感,还有就是迷茫了。

隐私这个东西,实际上在互联网之前就已经存在,比如法律规定不允许私自拆读他人信件——这就是对你个人隐私的保护。

在互联网之前,隐私传播需要媒介,艳照门不是你想有就有的,你出门大喊一声爆料,也传不出你所在的小区,所以在那个时代,人们很少谈起这个“隐私”,也不存在“泄露”的说法。

互联网的三大特性

超导性

来到互联网时代,我们曾讲互联网让地球变成了“地球村”,实际上这就是在说互联网的一大特点——【超导性】。实际上这个特性还有其他的名字比如“即时性”等等,这里我们为了更好让你理解,把它称作【超导性】,顾名思义,互联网就好像一块超导体,你在上面存放的任何信息和数据,都可以在一“瞬间”传递到它的任何位置,不论是中国,还是美国,甚至是南极北极空间站。

正是这一特性,让“隐私”泄露成为了可能。

虚拟性

你从不在纸上写日记,因为你害怕你的秘密(隐私)某天被别人读到——但你却愿意在互联网上表达一切,注册一个社交网络,甚至开通一个博客来做日志。难道你就不怕被全世界的人视奸吗?你不害怕,因为互联网的另一大特性在保护着你——【虚拟性】。

没人知道你是谁,互联网是世界共有的,你加入互联网是你自己的决定,你的身份也是你自己的选择,在“网上”,能代表你的,就是你自己选择的账户名称,它和你现实分身一点关系都没有,你写的网络日志,你内心的小秘密,可能正在被你的亲朋好友,你的老师同学读着——但这没关系,因为他们根本不知道你就是那个作者。

持久性

这一点或许应该改成“可持久性”,因为并不是说你的数据就永久不可修改。但无论如何,每时每刻,互联网上都有成千上万的“网络爬虫”,实际上就是专用的电脑终端,在无目的地扫描整个网络,不停地在站点和站点之间跨越,它们把所有遇到的数据都保存下来,以便日后使用,比如搜索引擎。当然,甚至有些站点专门用来给互联网做快照,他们会为互联网数据进行不同时间段的快照,你可以在今后的任意时间,来回顾过去任意时间点下的某个页面里的内容——哪怕作者(站长)已经更改或者删除了它们。

另外再提一个现在很流行的技术名词“高可用性”,就是说,当你建立了一个互联网服务器(实际就是一台24小时不间断联网的电脑),它其实也很容易损坏,一旦坏了,数据就丢失了。于是高可用技术出现,人们用十台、甚至一百台设备模拟一台服务器,你上传到服务器的数据,谁也不知道它具体存在这一百台中的哪一台里——实际上它在所有设备里。一旦其中某一台物理损坏,你的数据也不会受到影响。

在互联网中,“删除”这个操作在某种程度上讲其实是不存在的。

隐私的新定义

了解了互联网的两大特性,我们就可以来谈谈本文的主要议题——网上常说的“隐私”,到底是什么。

很多人说“我不怕隐私被泄露,反正那么多公司企业已经知道了”,这是消极态度,这并不是本文的讨论重点,它是另外一个话题。另外也有一些人这么反驳保护隐私的观点:“我行事坦荡,没什么好隐瞒的。”,这是本文主要的讨论目标,即隐私的新定义。

传统隐私

抛开互联网,我们来说说隐私是什么,这不是法律上的规定,而是我们生活中认为的定义,普遍来讲“除了我【想】让你知道的事情之外,其他关于我的事情都是我的隐私”,当然这么一定义的话就太宽泛了,这篇文章的意义也就不存在了。

总之,我们认为传统隐私就是那些让你难以启齿的事情,你会因别人知道这些事而感到沮丧、羞愧或气愤等,当然,比如你杀人了,这个不叫隐私。那么举个什么例子呢?比如你是个男生,但你从有性别意识开始,你就觉得自己应该是个女人——这样的想法,是你的隐私,你可能并不想让周围的人知道;再比如你喜欢情趣内衣,你买了好多情趣内衣在家穿着玩,只是觉得有意思,但并不想让你的相亲对象或者亲朋好友知道,这就是你的隐私。
类似的还有隐疾、一些奇怪的爱好、你的信件你的快递你的手机号……这些都是你的传统隐私,它们让别人知道了实际上也没什么,但你总不太愿意让不相关的人知道的清清楚楚。

互联网隐私

当互联网普及,人手一台网络终端的时候,隐私的定义就不再完全是传统隐私了。由于互联网的【虚拟性】保护,你可以在网上享受大肆自曝的快感而不用担心被身边的人知道——哪怕他就坐在你旁边,用手机看着你的微博,但他却不知道那就是你。

这就解释了为什么总有些人不喜欢朋友圈,不喜欢熟人社交,因为【虚拟性】被天然打破,他们知道你是谁,甚至他们是你的亲朋同事上司下属,你必须和现实生活中一样,小心谨慎,以维护你的传统隐私。

任何可能把你的现实身份和互联网身份关联起来的信息,都是你的互联网隐私

那么,怎么才能算【打破虚拟性】的信息呢?比如你用一个账号 abcd 来发言,没人知道你是谁,你可以随意自曝你的传统隐私,你公开自己的小癖好寻找同好、公开自己的隐疾希望有经验的过来人分享经历、公开自己的劈腿想找经验人士指点……这都没问题,因为【虚拟性】,没人知道你是谁。

甚至,对于住址,你的职业,你的电话号码,在网上能查到(比如地图上能查全中国任意一个门牌号),但由于【虚拟性】的保护,没人知道你是谁,那么这些信息就没价值——但是,如果恰好有人知道这些信息就是你——那个账号叫 abcd 的你的信息呢?

光想想就知道是灾难——因为【持久性】的存在,你曾经以 abcd 留下的蛛丝马迹,你曾经的发言都留在那里……剩下的我就不描述了。

超导性和持久性的威力

上文我们从例子中可以对互联网隐私略见一斑——但这些信息,对于传统隐私来说,可能并不那么重要。

比如你家住在哪个小区,你到小区里找个人说“我住这个小区”,那可能对方只会回答你“好巧我也在”——然后一段愉快的谈话就开始了。 但如果是在互联网上,你用你的 abcd 账号发布“我住在这个小区”,然后配图了一个坐标定位。那你可能就有麻烦了。

我们说互联网的虚拟性很好的保护了你的传统隐私,你什么都不怕,你在网上大肆曝光自己的传统隐私,却不注重保护它的虚拟性。一旦你的互联网隐私被泄露——这里我们说泄露,是因为互联网具有超导性,你泄露了哪怕一行信息,那它也在一瞬间传遍了整个互联网,所有关心它的人都可以轻易获得。

如果这还不够引起你的关注,那么,每天有数百万的网站致力于给全互联网做快照,你泄露的互联网隐私,可能因此就会永久地存储在云服务器上。这样的结果就是今后的任意时间,任意一个人,都可以轻松地找到它。

时刻谨记,你在网上的一言一行,都会被立即传导到整个互联网,并可能被【永久地】保存下来。

如果你还不在乎,那么我们不妨因此推论下,你曾经受益互联网的虚拟性时,发布的那些内容——可还都在那。

如果你认为只泄露一条数据,并不足以让你的虚拟性被打破,那么随着时间的增长,不小心泄露的互联网隐私越来越多,最终,广告诈骗会来敲门。

概念错位导致的无所畏惧

当我们在互联网上谈隐私,其实大多时候是两种概念混淆来谈的,这时候就有一个有趣的现象,当说到互联网隐私的时候,你会用传统隐私的理论去对抗它——那么自然互联网隐私就线的不那么重要了,因为在传统隐私里,这样的信息可以说不叫隐私;当说到传统隐私呢?你又会自然而然地把互联网的虚拟性加持到自己身上,你心想“我在网上说什么都没关系,反正没人知道我是谁——好吧就算他们知道了,也没什么”。

你对隐私不够重视,谈论隐私重要性的人也并没有把这两者分别对待,那么最终的结果就是“我没什么隐私,不怕泄露。”

那么在网上到底要不要保护传统隐私?

要。你可以选择公开一些必要的传统隐私,比如你在求医问药寻求帮助的时候。但要注意这些信息里很有可能包含打破你虚拟性的信息——比如药单上的电话和签名、比如自拍时镜子里或屏幕上的内容等等……

你要明白,你发布的每一条信息,都有可能受到互联网的持久性和超导性影响,它会永远都在那里,默默地等待,直到有一天,【互联网的虚拟性】这个保护伞被打破,他们就会变成尖锐的匕首,刺破你的喉咙。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.