R0uter Input Tool:I will buy the APP,But I do not want to GG

Article was originally titled "If this input method no longer able to make ends meet me,I went home to sell sweet potatoes. "

People say you want to sell a good App,Gotta equipped with a moving story,Last year, in an interviewIf no one buys the next month my App,I have to GGTie the hearts of many people - accidentally said a big truth,Many people find it difficult to accept this reality。- people are moving to the,Is the angle seems a little problem hhh

I do not want to accept this reality - but the reality is this,Larry user market even smaller than I expected a little bit,Just two years,Downloads pocketed input method had been about to make me a gg,But from another point of view to think,Not everyone made a promising industry, "input method",Also not optimistic about the implementation of an owner's behavior "charge",I also made everyone think I'm a crazy decision - a full-time independent development - until now,I may be a miracle their eyes (maybe also wonderful)。

After doing independent development I also did some other app,Some even recommend the App Store,On the home page。But the bulk of the final revenue or fall on this input method - who told it to sell the most expensive it? 🤷♂️

Turning point

well known,Pocketed input method has always been a one-time buyout,Later turned into internal buy-off,This occurred in the middle of one thing - a treasure of piracy。A treasure too much piracy,The beginning of the store is still very polite piracy,I went down to help me contact。I even chatted with them was also very happy,Some shops are taking advantage of my promotional code Tuen,I even said,I recognize this behavior,After all, it is to pay for the。

> At that time also the treasurer of a shop and I joked,This app you,Up to now did not sell much,Lose it。

Later, piracy becomes more,There is a shared account to shop 3 Cents of the price of sold out more than one hundred,Communication is the result of "complaints you go."。I feel helpless,So I simply changed within angrily purchased。

Insourcing model has a good,It is to support the trial,But there are also a bad,Old users migrate not very well - I overestimated Apple's servers,Also overestimated user behavior,Many users multiple accounts for the use,The result is very difficult to identify the program (not that delay on the network)。

Start tragedy

You think that survived the wave of migration is no problem? Take clothes! Pocketed input method is a niche product,But as the buyout business model,I must find a way to broaden the user base,Constantly attracting new users can,It also led me into buying one of the reasons free + in the off - but in fact,Conversion rate is not high within the available,Coupled with no discount in the purchase of the passive and the effects of price monitoring platform,But make the situation worse。- not to mention the price cut by half。

no way,Along the way we learn the tricks not working,A price drop before the moment of the whole platform can be pushed out,Although the old users will feel the pain,But the exposure is real,As an independent developer a too weak you do not necessarily super capital to refresh the ad is not? Give up this coup,Now a possible discount was found after one week。

> You can not take the popular search cheap route niche applications,Because this app is dead。

Lift me up I can send

Than I am in a hurry,It is that in a number of user groups are active users,They also impatient than I am,New user increments less,Old user did not want to support the wave of opportunities。

> From the beginning to the present,Users have been saying:"My brother purchased within you open a donation we'll buy it。”

My final thought,Pure money to purchase within the boring (though does have to do so and they are many),Not as good as I'll have been a small number of users like but I do not want to do it alone selling feature - so colorful package so born。But the effect is not ideal,Support of many people,But the price of a few dollars,Plus behind ¥ 25 dollars,Expansion pack heat quickly dropped,You can give yourself a cool。

> correct,Pocketed input method can therefore also joked, led by a krypton gold input method。

Do a one expansion pack? That should not apply again and again a orange card? ? Ok,this road,Did not go so well - I can not stand。

Pocketed input X

This will certainly be done letting go,I've thought about a lot of direction。Even want,Or simply lamb once again change the business model,Directly to subscribe? - This is the time to turn off the grid input subscribe rumors。Actually I did not decide things。

> When you know it's time,In fact, I've started off the grid in the X Input Method。

I carefully analyzed the development process pocketed input method,To carry out an iterative update rate levels to points in the app to the App Store,That I must be the highest frequency that a group of。

> I won achievements:Update too frequently resulting in user mail abuse me "cnm update nmb more!"

This update frequency combined with efficient after-sales,To tell the truth I really powerless。No time to pondering promotion,There is no time to engage in activities,Every day is more more more,Some users like features,Some features users hate,Finally formed a special atmosphere - plus a per function,It comes with a function switch ...... old and new users are one-time payment,At this time it is hard to say clearly what is the price of new features。So save a large version released a year is the norm in the software market - but this model is clearly not right for me。

New business models

The last look back,What pocketed input of people like that? Its existing features? if,Why everyone is so hungry updated with new features? if not,Why pocketed input method say they will no longer add new features to a complete collapse?

> Two three-point line in real life too boring,Probably the only pleasure is to update the app every day with a look at what it adds new features。

So,I finally want to understand,What you like it - is that we can not "play" it,A complex pattern of new features,A variety of custom preferences,Change to change freshness。So,This will bring it might charge。

I pocketed the basic functions of the X input method is open free,On the one hand there is a little selfish,This avoids some of the potential disputes between users,The other is that this part I do not need to spend much time maintained,Because after two years of development kernel,After the reconstruction has been relatively stable (you can understand significantly reduce production costs),I put [itself] as custom fees,That is,If you're like me,I do not care about those "tricks",I wanted to play comfortably words with Larry,In fact pocketed the input method on X like you (like me) who,[] It is completely free! --Oh, right,For students need fuzzy sound bonus,This feature is free。

> At that time closed beta group have bombed,You do not say money functions are free and open you crazy?

So what is the charge? What are the other charges (fog)。

App Store, it was assessed that "the authors want to make money like crazy,Key shock for such a basic function (switch) have to pay to use. ",Yes,This feature requires pay to [Close],But the function itself is free for you。Here I use a very new perspective,Pocketed input X Not the code as a productTo sell,Well, ISales is to update and maintain(Especially the futurenew functionDevelopment),These features,Some people like some people do not like,Want [Custom],Then the charges,You want to open Ye,I want to shut worth mentioning,This is the fundamental charge。

Subscribe to have a good,As used with the open,The day that you play tired of those functions,Unsubscribe as normal with normal typing。Someday I developed a new interesting features you interested,And then set him a month to continue playing。 If the word to describe this tall to use a business model,Probably called -UaaS ? Update as a service (I made it up)

The so-called niche

When I go back to re-examine their own choices,A small minority of input method,Eventually he went out of his way to go from a public route,Want to rely on to get the demographic dividend income is simply wishful thinking。As [a man],In fact, if they really want to do,Very difficult,Fun for a whole company of a person's duties,Almost vomit blood!

I said Larry market is Blue Ocean,Virtually every user is a potential spelling Larry user。Some students have felt,Larry is not iOS built-in input method is off the grid winter,My view has not changed:In fact, this is for meGood deed,This increases the probability that the user change the spelling to Larry,Reducing the threshold of the contacts on iOS Shuangpin。but--You see bad "but" appeared- [minority] really is not the word to talk about,Now you know why manufacturers do not want to do this at the top semi-detached even a little effort, right? Because marketing is too slow! So we see,Sales pocketed input method eventually drop,Slowly stabilize at a relatively low level - new users are willing to pay Larry is still there,But this growth can not meet my living expenses。

A man on my own,I do not know of these years to open the market,A few years ago is still relatively popular "elitist",Probably saying we should do massive demographic dividend filter,Only a small number of high-quality customer service inside (20% of theory),And Larry is inherently small minority it has done for me this filter,So I have to consider the provision of high quality services to a small number of users (commonly known as the rich earn money) a。

But at the same time reducing the barrier to entry itself Larry - because the underlying feature is free of charge。

Double,Needless to say

Select the subscription model is recommended by almost all big brother,But in the country,It is still a risky move step,What can not do,It depends on the market and the test of time。Now third-party input method iOS platform gradually addition of up,Larry also supports many input method,Since I can not do so a fire Larry user manual,Then do the best (expensive) Shuangpin input bar。

Published by R0uter

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

Join the Conversation

8 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Come support what the chiefs,Independent developers is not easy,This is especially the domestic copyright awareness is not a sound environment。

  2. Can you provide a one-time buyout of it? The key is how you promote capacity,I was a small series,Before contacted you,You want to promote cooperation once

  3. That you just sell your point,I do not like the feeling of subscription. Gone a little possessive,You rent an apartment and buy a house with the same

    1. My opinion is the same as Presbyterian,Does not support you,X do not you just sell off the grid a little expensive,Do not subscribe,I do not like to rent。

落格输入法:没人买我的 APP 了,但我不想 GG

文章原标题《如果这个输入法再无法让我维持生计,我就回家卖红薯》

人家说一个 App 想要卖的好,总得配一个动人的故事,去年一篇专访如果下个月没人买我的 App,我就得 GG扎了很多人的心——一不小心说了大实话,不少人难以接受这个现实。——人是动到了,就是角度似乎有点问题hhh

我也不想接受这个现实——但现实就是如此,双拼用户市场比我预计的还要小那么一点点,仅仅两年,落格输入法的下载量就已经快要让我 gg 了,但换个角度来想,做了一个所有人都不看好的行业“输入法”,还执行了一个所有人都不看好的行为“收费”,我还做了一个所有人都觉得我疯掉了的决定——全职独立开发——一直到现在,我可能是他们眼里的奇迹(奇葩也说不定)。

在做独立开发之后我还做了一些别的 app,有的甚至上了 App Store 推荐,上了首页。但最终收入的大头还是落在了这款输入法上——谁叫它卖的最贵呢?🤷‍♂️

转折

众所周知的,落格输入法一直以来是一次性买断的,后来转成了内购买断,这中间发生了一件事——某宝的盗版。某宝盗版太多了,一开始的盗版商店还很有礼貌,我去联系就帮我下了。我甚至后来还和他们聊的很开心,有的店铺是趁我促销屯的码,我甚至还说,我是认可这种行为的,毕竟也是付费购买的。

> 当时某店铺掌柜还和我开玩笑说,你这个 app,到现在都没卖出去多少,亏啦。

后来盗版变多了,其中有一个共享账号店铺以 3 分钱的价格卖出去了一百多份,沟通的结果是“你投诉去吧”。我很无奈,所以一气之下我就索性改内购了。

内购模式有一个好,就是支持试用了,但也有一个不好,老用户的迁移不是很顺利——我高估了苹果的服务器,也高估了用户行为,不少用户多个账号换着用,结果就是程序上的识别非常困难(还不说网络上的延迟)。

悲剧的开始

你以为挺过了这一波迁移就没问题了?拿衣服!落格输入法是一款小众产品,但作为买断的商业模式,我必须想办法拓宽用户群体,不停地吸引新用户才可以,这也是促使我改成免费+内购买断的原因之一——但事实上,内购的转化率并不高,再加上内购的折扣没有了价格监控平台的被动推广效果,反而让情况更加糟糕。——更别说售价砍了一大半。

没办法,一路走来学会的招数不灵了,降个价以前瞬间全平台都能推出去,虽然会让老用户感到痛苦,但曝光量是实实在在的,作为一名势单力孤的独立开发者你必然没有超级资本去广告刷屏不是?放弃了这一妙招,现在一个打折可能一周后才有人发现。

> 你搜不到走大众化廉价路线的小众应用,因为这样的 app 都死了。

扶我起来我还能送

比我着急的,是那一批在用户群里活跃的用户,他们比我还心急,新用户增量少了,老用户想支持一波也没门路。

> 从一开始到现在,一直有用户在说:“老哥你开个捐赠内购吧我们给你买。”

最终我想了想,纯内购送钱没意思(虽然确实有这么做的且不在少数),不如我就把一直以来少部分用户喜欢但我又不想做的功能做出来单独卖——于是炫彩包就这么诞生了。但效果并不理想,支持的人不少,不过几块钱的价格,再加上隐藏在 ¥25 块钱的背后,扩展包的热度很快就下降了,一首凉凉可以送给自己。

> 对了,落格输入法因此还被戏称为首个可以氪金的输入法。

一个一个的做扩展包?那要不要再抽个橙卡??好吧,这条路,没那么好走——我自己就受不了。

落格输入法 X

这样放任下去肯定要完,我曾思考过很多方向。甚至想,要不一不做二不休索性再改一次商业模式,直接转订阅? ——这就是当时落格输入法要转订阅的传言。实际上我自己都没决定的事情。

> 当你们知道这件事的时候,其实我已经在着手落格输入法 X 了。

我仔细地分析了落格输入法的开发历程,如果要按更新迭代的速度来给 App Store 里的 app 分个等级,那我一定是频率最高的那一批。

> 我曾获得成就:更新得太频繁导致用户发邮件来骂我 “cnm更新 nmb更!”

这样的更新频率加上售后效率,说实在的我确实力不从心。没有时间去琢磨推广,也没有时间去搞活动,每天就是更更更,有的功能用户喜欢,有的功能用户讨厌,最后形成了特殊的风气——每加一个功能,就附赠一个功能开关…… 老用户和新用户都是一次性付费,这时候你就很难说清楚新功能的价格是多少。所以攒个一年发布大版本是软件市场的常态——但这个模式显然是不适合我的。

新的商业模式

最后回过头来看看,用落格输入法的人喜欢的是什么?是它的现有功能吗?如果是,那为什么每个人都那么渴求新功能的更新?如果不是,那为什么落格输入法说不再添加新功能他们就彻底崩溃?

> 现实中两点三点一线的生活太枯燥,可能唯一的乐趣就是更新一个天天用的 app 看看它又添加了哪些新功能。

所以,我最终想明白了,你们喜欢它什么——不就是能“玩”么,花样繁出的新功能,各种各样的自定义偏好设置,改来改去的新鲜感。所以,不妨就将这个拿来收费吧。

我把落格输入法 X 的基础功能免费开放,一方面是有个小私心,这样避免了一些用户之间潜在的争议,另一方面则是觉得这一部分内容我已经不需要花多大时间维护了,因为内核经过两年的开发,重构之后已经相对稳定(你可以理解为生产成本大幅降低),我把【自定义】本身定为收费项目,也就是说,如果你和我一样,根本不在乎那些“花样”,就想用双拼舒舒服服地打个字,实际上落格输入法 X 对你这样(和我一样)的人,是【完全】免费的!——哦对了,对于需要模糊音加成的同学,这个功能也是免费的。

> 当时内测群都炸了,说你不要钱了功能都免费开放你疯了?

那么什么是收费的?其他什么都是收费的(大雾)。

 App Store 里有人评价说“作者想赚钱想疯了,按键震动这么基础的功能(开关)都要付费才能用”,是的,这个功能需要付费才能【关闭】,但功能本身免费提供给你。这里我应用了很新颖的观点,落格输入法 X 不把代码当作产品去销售,我销售的是更新和维护(尤其是未来新功能的开发),而这些功能,有的人喜欢有的人不喜欢,想要【自定义】,那么就收费了,你想开也好,想关也罢,这就是收费的根本。

订阅有一个好,随用随开,哪天你玩厌倦了那些功能,取消订阅一样正常打字正常用。哪天我开发了新的有意思的功能你感兴趣了,再订他一个月继续玩。 如果要用个高大上的词来形容这种商业模式,大概叫——UaaS ? Update as a service(我瞎编的)

所谓小众

当我回头重新审视自己的选择,一个小众的输入法,最终却想尽办法走起了大众路线,想要依靠人口红利来获得收益简直就是痴心妄想。作为【一个人】,其实就算真的想做,也十分吃力,一个人玩转一整个公司的职务,简直吐血!

我曾说双拼的市场是蓝海,实际上每一个全拼用户都是潜在的双拼用户。一直有同学觉得,iOS 内置的双拼是不是就是落格输入法的冬天,我的观点一直没有改变:这其实对我是好事,这样增加了全拼用户向双拼转变的概率,降低了在 iOS 上接触双拼的门槛。但是——你看不好的“但是”就出现了——【小众】这个词真的不是说说的,现在你知道为什么大厂不愿意在双拼这上边做哪怕一点点努力了吧?因为市场开拓的太慢了!于是我们就看到,落格输入法的销量最终下降,慢慢地会稳定在一个比较低的水平——愿意付费的双拼新用户还是有的,只是这个增速不能满足我的生活开支。

靠我自己一个人,我不知道猴年马月能打开这个市场,前几年还比较流行“精英策略”,大概说要把海量人口红利做过滤,只为里边少部分高质量用户服务(20%理论),而双拼天生就是小众它已经为我做了这个过滤,那么我也要考虑为少数高质量用户提供服务(俗称赚有钱人的钱)了。

但同时又降低了双拼本身入门的门槛——因为基础功能就是免费的。

双拼,无需多言

选择订阅模式是几乎是所有大佬的推荐,但在国内,依旧是一步险棋,究竟能不能行,还要看市场和时间的考验。现在 iOS 平台的第三方输入法逐渐又多了起来,支持双拼的输入法也不少,既然我做不到双拼用户人手一份那么火,那就做最好(贵)的双拼输入法吧。

Published by R0uter

如非声明,本人所著文章均为原创手打,转载请注明本页面链接和我的名字。

Join the Conversation

8 Comments

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

  1. 你能提供一个一次性买断的吗?关键还是看您推广能力,我是一小编,之前联系过您,想跟您合作一次推广