Categories
Linux Mac OS

Why UNIX systems, such as the hidden directory to point at the beginning?

we all know,in Windows Hidden folders are invisible,They some system files,While others arevirus。If you have to display words,After warning system,You can be in the form of semi-transparent folder to see this folder,Systems in order to identify a folder is hidden,It has a "-s"Properties,Protected by the system。

So a lot of people are new to Linux、OSX,I will not get used,Because these operating systems are hidden files以点开头To mark the,The names of these directories are not even in Windows used to name the folder!

of course,If it is a good name in advance of,Then it can be copied and pasted into Windows,,Ok,You can also access the,Not just hidden - Well acclimatized,Otherwise you howAlways able to see the U disk out of the Rideau wonderful directory on OSXIt?

Then,Why OSX、Linux To use the hidden files and directories of this wonderful method it? ! Like Windows,Directly to a "hidden" attribute,We make a hook these days?

In fact,This long-standing problem。

Like Linux, naming each directory as,This form of hidden file name is historic:It comes from a command bug.

Long before,Linux and other operating systems do not have a graphical interface,The command line if we want to see a directory,You need to use the command ls(Because UNIX-like operating systems have relatively better Windows permission mechanism,Touches and less need by hiding way to protect files and directories)

we all know,In the command line regardless of which directory,There are always two eternal presence directory,That is point and Little

A dot represents the current directory,Two points on behalf of the parent directory,So we will use the change directory command(cd)By switching to two points to represent the higher(Windows is in "Improvement”)

This is a point that would generally useless - or little significance,So ls default does not display the directory,That hide thispoint,Leaving onlyLittle

But there is always a directory of several files, but usually do not have to exist (For example, directory profile configuration and the like),You can hide these days?(Someone finally issued a hidden demand!)

Later it was discovered ls command has a bug,all以点开头的名称好像都不会被显示Ah!

Therefore, such a method of hiding files spread to two opinions - Today,bug into a feature

😃

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » Why UNIX systems, such as the hidden directory to point at the beginning?

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/1032.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

3 replies on “Why UNIX systems, such as the hidden directory to point at the beginning?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

为什么 UNIX 等系统的隐藏目录以点开头?

我们都知道,在 Windows 下隐藏文件夹是看不到的,它们有的是系统文件,而有的则是病毒。如果非要显示的话,经过系统的警告之后,你可以以半透明的文件夹的形式看到这个文件夹,系统以此来标识一个文件夹是隐藏的,它有着“-s”的属性,受到系统保护。

那么很多人刚刚接触 Linux、OSX,就会很不习惯,因为这些操作系统的隐藏文件是以点开头来标记的,这些目录的名称甚至都不能在 Windows 下用来给文件夹命名!

当然,如果是提前命名好了的,则又可以复制粘贴到 Windows 下,嗯,也可以正常访问,只不过不再隐藏了——水土不服嘛,要不然你怎么总能够在 OSX 上看到 U 盘里多出来的奇妙目录呢?

那么,为什么 OSX、Linux 要使用这种奇葩的隐藏文件和目录的方法呢?!像 Windows 一样,直接来一个“隐藏”的属性,我们打个勾可好?

其实,这个问题由来已久。

就像 Linux 下每个目录的命名方式一样,这个隐藏文件的命名形式是有历史的:它来自一个命令的 bug.

早在以前,Linux 等操作系统没有图形界面,而命令行的话我们想要查看一个目录,则需要使用命令 ls(由于类 UNIX 操作系统有相对 Windows 更完善的权限机制,倒是并不太需要通过隐藏的方式来保护文件和目录)

我们都知道,在命令行里无论在哪个目录,总有两个目录永恒存在,那就是点点

一个点代表了当前目录,两个点代表了上级目录,所以我们会使用切换目录命令(cd)通过切换到两个点来表示转到上级(Windows 中则是“向上”)

那么一般这一个点这个没什么用处——或者说意义不大,所以 ls 默认不会显示这个目录,即隐藏掉了这个,只留下了点点

但一个目录里总有那么几个平时不用但必须存在的文件(比如配置文件配置目录之类的),能够隐藏可好?(终于有人发出了隐藏的需求!)

后来人们就发现 ls  命令有个 bug,所有以点开头的名称好像都不会被显示呀!

所以这样隐藏文件的方法一来二去就传开了——时至今日,bug 变成了 feature

😃

“为什么 UNIX 等系统的隐藏目录以点开头?”的3个回复

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

34 − 27 =