Categories
Linux

What is SELinux

Profile

SELinux is "Security-Enhanced Linux"Abbreviation,Linux is a US National Security Agency, "NSA = The National Security Agency" and SCC (Secure Computing Corporation) developedExtended mandatory access control security module

9f510fb30f2442a76481e183d343ad4bd113020c.jpg

Development reasons

Because a lot of trade secrets stored on the company's business platform server,personal information,It is directly related to the personal data of personal privacy issues。Especially the government's website,As a platform for information disclosure,It's even more important to safety。These servers are connected to the Internet,Inevitably be subject to threats from around the world。The worst of times our server has been compromised,Home Document to be replaced,Confidential documents stolen。In addition to the threat from the outside of the outer,Criminals access to internal staff,Attack can not be ignored。For these attacks or threats,Of course, there are many ways,Firewall,Intrusion Detection System,Patch, etc.。Because Linux is also the same as other commercial UNIX,There have been all kinds of security vulnerability is found。

Shortcomings of traditional Linux OS

Although Linux than for Windows,Its reliability,Stable given much better,But he is also the same as with other UNIX,There are these deficiencies。

1)The presence of privileged user root
Anyone get root privileges,For the entire system can do whatever they want。This is also the same as Windows。
2)For access to files divided fine enough
In linux system,For file operations,Only the "owner","All set.","Other" division of these three categories。For the "Other" category in the user then carefully divided, then there is no way。
3)Permissions SUID program upgrade
If the program had SUID permissions vulnerability words,It can easily be exploited by attackers。
4)DAC (Discretionary Access Control)Problem
Owner of the file directory can file all operations,This inconvenience to the overall management system。For these deficiencies,Firewall,Intrusion detection systems are powerless。

DAC(Discretionary access control,Discretionary Access Control):

DAC mechanism refers to an object (such as a program、The appropriate permissions files or processes, etc.) of any owner can grant or modify this object。Such as traditional Linux,Windows, etc.。

MAC(Mandatory Access Control,Mandatory Access Control):

MAC mechanism means that the system does not allow objects (such as procedures、A file or folder, etc.) the owner of the object being altered or granted appropriate permissions,But through mandatory unified manner grant permission for each object,For example SELinux。

Advantages of SELinux

SELinuxLinux systems compared to conventional systems,Safety performance is much higher,It does this by the user,Minimization process privileges,Even under attack,Process or user rights taken away,It will not have a significant impact on the entire system。In standard Linux,,Access control attribute of the subject is the process through real and effective user and group ID associated structures in the kernel process,These properties are protected by a large number of tools to use the kernel,Including the login process and setuid program,For files,inode file includes a set of access mode bit、Files user and group ID。Previously based access control read / write / execute these three control bits,File owner、Owner of the file owning group、Others set each。In SELinux,Access control attribute is always a security context trio form,All files and security context has an associated body,Using standard Linux process user / group ID,File access mode,File user / group ID can either visit or rejected.,SELinux security context of the process and object,Needs to be pointed out that,Because the primary access control feature of SELinux is type coercion,Security context determines the access type identifier。To access a file,It must have normal access permissions and access to both the SELinux。Therefore, even run as superuser root process,You may deny access to files or resources in accordance with the process and the SELinux security context of files or resources。

For chestnuts:
In Linux,passwd program can be trusted,Modify the storage through shadow password file encryption password (/ etc / shadow),passwd program performs its own internal security policies,It allows ordinary users to modify their own passwords belong,While allowing the root to modify all passwords。To perform this job Trusted,passwd program needs to have the ability to move and re-create the shadow file,In standard Linux,,It has the privilege,Because the passwd executable file with the setuid bit at the time of execution of the,As the root user (which can access all files) allow,however,Many programs can be permitted as root (in fact,,All programs are likely to allow as root)。This means that any program(When run as root when)They are likely to be able to modify the shadow file。Type coercion so that we can do is to ensure that only the passwd program (or similar trusted program) can access the shadow files,No matter who the user is running the program。

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » What is SELinux

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/486.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

什么是SELinux

简介

SELinux是「Security-Enhanced Linux」的简称,是美国国家安全局「NSA=The National Security Agency」 和SCC(Secure Computing Corporation)开发的 Linux的一个扩展强制访问控制安全模块

9f510fb30f2442a76481e183d343ad4bd113020c.jpg

开发原因

因为企业的业务平台的服务器上存储着大量的商务机密,个人资料,个人资料它直接关系到个人的隐私问题。特别是政府的网站,作为信息公开的平台,它的安全就 更显得重要了。这些连到互联网的服务器,不可避免的要受到来自世界各地的各种威胁。最坏的时候我们的服务器被入侵,主页文件被替换,机密文件被盗走。除了 来自外部的威胁外,内部人员的不法访问,攻击也是不可忽视的。对于这些攻击或者说是威胁,当然有很多的办法,有防火墙,入侵检测系统,打补丁等等。因为 Linux也和其他的商用UNIX一样,不断有各类的安全漏洞被发现。

传统的Linux OS的不足之处

虽然Linux 比起 Windows 来说,它的可靠性,稳定定要好得多,但是他也是和其他的UNIX 一样,有以下这些不足之处。

1)存在特权用户root
任何人只要得到root的权限,对于整个系统都可以为所欲为。这一点Windows也一样。
2)对于文件的访问权的划分不够细
在linux系统里,对于文件的操作,只有「所有者」,「所有组」,「其他」这3类的划分。对于「其他」这一类里的用户再细细的划分的话就没有办法了。
3)SUID程序的权限升级
如果设置了SUID权限的程序有了漏洞的话,很容易被攻击者所利用。
4)DAC (Discretionary Access Control)问题
文件目录的所有者可以对文件进行所有的操作,这给系统整体的管理带来不便。对于以上这些的不足,防火墙,入侵检测系统都是无能为力的。

DAC(Discretionary access control,自主访问控制):

DAC机制就是指对象(比如程序、文件或进程等)的的拥有者可以任意的修改或授予此对象相应的权限。例如传统Linux,Windows等。

MAC(Mandatory Access Control,强制访问控制):

MAC机制是指系统不再允许对象(比如程序、文件或文件夹等)的拥有者随意修改或授予此对象相应的权限,而是透过强制的方式为每个对象统一授予权限,例如SELinux。

SELinux的优点

SELinux系统比起通常的Linux系统来,安全性能要高的多,它通过对于用户,进程权限的最小化,即使受到攻击,进程或者用户权限被夺去,也不会对 整个系统造成重大影响。在标准Linux中,主体的访问控制属性是与进程通过在内核中的进程结构关联的真实有效的用户和组ID,这些属性通过内核利用大量 工具进行保护,包括登陆进程和setuid程序,对于文件,文件的inode包括一套访问模式位、文件用户和组ID。以前的访问控制基于读/写/执行这三 个控制位,文件所有者、文件所有者所属组、其他人各一套。在SELinux中,访问控制属性总是安全上下文三人组形式,所有文件和主体都有一个关联的安全 上下文,标准Linux使用进程用户/组ID,文件的访问模式,文件用户/组ID要么可以访问要么被拒绝,SELinux使用进程和客体的安全上下文,需 要特别指出的是,因为SELinux的主要访问控制特性是类型强制,安全上下文中的类型标识符决定了访问权。若要访问文件,必须同时具有普通访问权限和 SELinux访问权限。因此即使以超级用户身份root运行进程,根据进程以及文件或资源的SELinux安全性上下文可能拒绝访问文件或资源。

举个栗子:
在Linux中,passwd程序是可信任的,修改存储经过加密的密码的影子密码文件(/etc/shadow),passwd程序执行它自己内部的安全 策略,允许普通用户修改属于他们自己的密码,同时允许root修改所有密码。为了执行这个受信任的作业,passwd程序需要有移动和重新创建 shadow文件的能力,在标准Linux中,它有这个特权,因为passwd程序可执行文件在执行时被加上了setuid位,它作为root用户(它能 访问所有文件)允许,然而,许多程序都可以作为root允许(实际上,所有程序都有可能作为root允许)。这就意味着任何程序(当以root身份运行 时)都有可能能够修改shadow文件。类型强制使我们能做的事情是确保只有passwd程序(或类似的受信任的程序)可以访问shadow文件,不管运 行程序的用户是谁。

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注