M1 macOS Install Windows 11 virtual machine VMWare

waited a long time,Finally wait until the VMWare preview release supports the Arm version of Win 11. Now let's try it out on macOS 12.5 Upload a Windows virtual machine。

Download resources

First of all,You have to have a VMWare account,This will allow you to download the technical preview version of Fusion from the VMWare website。 https://customerconnect.vmware.com/downloads/get-download?downloadGroup=FUS-PUBTP-22H2&download=true

The version that needs to be downloaded is VMware-Fusion-e.x.p-20191287_universal.dmg

The first to support Win 11 Arm's VMWare Fusion Technology Preview

The first to support Win 11 Arm's VMWare Fusion Technology Preview

 

Next up is Windows 11 the iso image,If you have Microsoft official test qualification,Just download it directly,If there is no,Can be downloaded from the open source website:https://uupdump.net/,Search this site for the keyword "Windows 11 version arm”,In theory, the first few have the results we need:

Search for the keyword "Windows 11 version arm”

Search for the keyword "Windows 11 version arm”

Click on a result similar to the line in the figure,i.e. Win 11 22H2 Arm64 version,Enter the language selection interface。You can choose English or Chinese according to your needs,Then click Next to select the version,Here I only checked the Windows Home version。No need to change the default options in the next step,Just click "Create download package" to download the generated script package。

The resulting compressed package is small,is actually a tool for downloading and generating iso images,Pay attention here,If you operate on macOS,Then you need to download a few open source dependencies necessary to execute the script: cabextract wimlib cdrtools sidneys/homebrew/chntpw Other,There is also aria2 for download. If you have other devices running Windows,Then it will be much more convenient to execute this script with windows - just go to https://github.com/aria2/aria2/releases Download exe and put it in the script directory。

Use the command to execute the shell script for the corresponding platform or double-click that on Windows uup_download_windows.cmd to start,The whole process is longer,In addition to downloading a lot of data,Will also do some local compilation after the download to produce the iso image,need to be patient。

It is worth mentioning that,Due to the large number of downloaded files,There is a high chance that individual file downloads will fail,At this point, the script will report an error and stop。However, Aria2 supports breakpoint resuming,re-execute the script,Content that has already been downloaded will not be re-downloaded - run the script repeatedly until the download is complete,You can enter the compilation stage。

Final,We will get an iso image in this directory with a name like this: 22621.317.220719-1658.NI_RELEASE_SVC_PROD3_CLIENTCORE_OEMRET_A64FRE_EN-US Now the resources are ready。

boot

Booting is not a problem,The only possible problem is that VMWare boot does not recognize the disc image,direct network boot,show start pxe over ipv4 。This means that there is a problem with your iso image,or failed to identify,Either this is an AMD64 and not an ARM64,Check your specific version,see if you're wrong。

solved this problem,You can boot to the Windows installation interface normally.。

network card problem

after installation,Windows will enter the initial configuration phase,But due to changes in Microsoft's marketing strategy,Windows now forces networking to complete initial configuration。However, the current VMWare default network card cannot be used by Windows. 11 Automatic Identification,So at this time there is no internet,Only after entering the system and installing tools will it be successfully recognized。

This causes the initial configuration to get stuck in the "Let's connect you to a network" step and can't continue...because we don't have a network card,But this step cannot be skipped now...

At this time in this interface,Use the key combination shift + F10 opens a command prompt window,Type in this window OBE\BYPASSNRO press enter,The system will automatically restart,go back to this step again,Then you can see a skip button next to the grey next step。Click it to skip the step of networking,We can proceed with the initialization。

OOBE is short for out of box experience,Probably means "out of the box experience"。

Initializing configuration

Initializing configuration

Permissions issue

last step,That is, install VMWare Tools, the driver of the virtual machine。After mounting the CD, find setup and double-click,You will get the error "package failed updates dependency or conflict validation"。This is actually due to permissions,According to the Readme of the Tools installation directory ,Want you to open Windows Terminal,Actually,You should use Windows Power Shell instead of cmd,Open Power Shell with administrator privileges,Then enter Set-ExecutionPolicy RemoteSigned press enter,At this point, the system will further ask whether to change the permissions,enter Y confirm。Be careful not to use as instructed in the readme setup.ps1 start up,Launching directly in Power Shell fails:

Launching the installation script directly in power shell fails to install

Launching the installation script directly in power shell fails to install

The Power Shell window should close at this point,Double-click to execute the installation script。

carry out

This time,Adjust settings like screen resolution a bit,Windows 11 The virtual machine on arm is installed!

Windows 11 on arm virtual machine installation is complete

Windows 11 on arm virtual machine installation is complete

References

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » M1 macOS Install Windows 11 virtual machine VMWare

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3575.html

About the Author

R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

Comments

  1. Can you paste things between virtual machines and physical machines after you install them? I don't have any response when I'm done,And the virtual machine menu bar still installs vmware tools

    1. i did not buy pd18,So there is no comparison。And it's still a technical preview.,At present, I blindly guess that the development focus is still mainly on compatibility.,Performance optimization will be done later。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

M1 macOS 安装 Windows 11 虚拟机 VMWare

等了好久,终于等到 VMWare 预览版发布支持 Arm 版 Win 11. 现在我们就一起来试试在 macOS 12.5 上装 Windows 虚拟机。

下载资源

首先,你要有一个 VMWare 账号,这样才能从 VMWare 官网下载技术预览版 Fusion。 https://customerconnect.vmware.com/downloads/get-download?downloadGroup=FUS-PUBTP-22H2&download=true

需要下载的版本是 VMware-Fusion-e.x.p-20191287_universal.dmg :

第一个支持 Win 11 Arm 的 VMWare Fusion 技术预览版

第一个支持 Win 11 Arm 的 VMWare Fusion 技术预览版

 

接下来是 Windows 11 的 iso 镜像,如果你有微软的官方测试资格,那就直接下载就好了,如果没有,可以从开源网站下载:https://uupdump.net/,在这个网站搜索关键字 “Windows 11 version arm”,理论上前几个中就有我们需要的结果了:

搜索关键字 “Windows 11 version arm”

搜索关键字 “Windows 11 version arm”

点击类似图中划线的结果,也就是 Win 11 22H2 Arm64 的版本,进入语言选择界面。大家根据自己需求选择英文或者中文,然后点 Next 选版本,这里我只勾选了 Windows Home 版本。再下一步无需更改默认选项,直接点击 “Create download package” 下载生成的脚本压缩包即可。

得到的压缩包很小,实际上是用来下载和生成 iso 镜像的工具,这里注意,如果你这 macOS 操作,那么你需要下载几个执行脚本必要的开源依赖: cabextract wimlib cdrtools sidneys/homebrew/chntpw 另外,还有用来下载的 aria2. 如果你有其他运行 Windows 的设备,那么用 windows 执行这个脚本会方便很多——只要去 https://github.com/aria2/aria2/releases 下载 exe 放在脚本目录即可。

使用命令执行对应平台的 shell 脚本或者在 Windows 上双击那个 uup_download_windows.cmd 来启动,整个过程比较久,除了会下载大量数据外,也会在下载结束后进行一些本地编译来生产 iso 镜像,需要耐心等待。

值得一提的是,由于下载的文件很多,很有可能个别文件下载失败,此时脚本会报错停止。不过 Aria2 是支持断点续传的,重新执行脚本,已经下载的内容不会重复下载——重复运行脚本直到下载完成,就可以进入编译环节了。

最终,我们会在这个目录下得到一个名称类似这样的 iso 镜像: 22621.317.220719-1658.NI_RELEASE_SVC_PROD3_CLIENTCORE_OEMRET_A64FRE_EN-US 这下资源就都准备好了。

引导启动

引导启动问题不大,唯一可能遇到的问题就是 VMWare 启动不识别光盘镜像,会直接进行网络启动,显示  start pxe over ipv4 。这说明你的 iso 镜像有问题,要么是没做好识别失败,要么就是这是一个 AMD64 而不是 ARM64,检查你的具体版本,看看是不是弄错了。

解决了这个问题,就可以正常引导到 Windows 的安装界面了。

网卡问题

在安装结束后,Windows 会进入初始化配置阶段,但由于微软的营销策略改变,Windows 现在强制联网才能完成初始化配置。可偏偏现在的 VMWare 默认网卡还不能被 Windows 11 自动识别,所以此时无论如何都是没有网的,只有稍后进入系统安装 tools 才会成功识别。

这就导致初始化配置卡在 “Let’s connect you to a network” 这一步无法继续……因为我们没有网卡,但这一步现在已经不能跳过了……

此时在这个界面,使用组合键 shift + F10 可打开命令提示符窗口,在这个窗口内输入 OOBE\BYPASSNRO 按回车,系统会自动重启,再次回到这个步骤,然后你就可以看到灰色下一步旁边多出了一个跳过按钮。点击它跳过联网的步骤,我们就可以继续进行初始化了。

OOBE 是 out of box experience 的缩写,大概意思是“开箱即用体验”。

正在初始化配置

正在初始化配置

权限问题

最后一步,也就是安装 VMWare Tools, 即虚拟机的驱动。挂载光盘后找到 setup 双击,你会得到报错 “package failed updates dependency or conflict validation”。这其实是由于权限引起的,根据 Tools 安装目录的 Readme ,要你打开 Windows Terminal,实际上,你应该用 Windows 的 Power Shell 而不是 cmd,使用管理员权限打开 Power Shell,然后输入 Set-ExecutionPolicy RemoteSigned 按回车,此时系统会进一步询问是否更改权限,输入 Y 确认。注意不要按照 readme 指示使用 setup.ps1 启动,直接在 Power Shell 中启动会失败:

直接在 power shell 中启动安装脚本会安装失败

直接在 power shell 中启动安装脚本会安装失败

此时应该关闭 Power Shell 窗口,双击执行安装脚本。

完成

这下,稍微调整一下屏幕分辨率之类的配置,Windows 11 on arm 的虚拟机就安装完成了!

Windows 11 on arm 虚拟机安装完成

Windows 11 on arm 虚拟机安装完成

参考文献

本文由 落格博客 原创撰写:落格博客 » M1 macOS 安装 Windows 11 虚拟机 VMWare

转载请保留出处和原文链接:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3575.html

About the Author

落格博客

如非声明,本人所著文章均为原创手打,转载请注明本页面链接和我的名字。

发表回复

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。