Categories
Big Data Virtualization

How to install ESXi ESXi?

Install a virtual machine in a virtual machine

I think is not what mysterious thing,VM virtual machine can be installed as a VM ESXi experimental environment,But this, after all, is limited by the ability level of the personal computer,Start experimental test or what will make people very upset,So,This time we will try to come installed on a real ESXi ESXi server,This should be more than installing multiple ESXi in a virtual machine performance to improve a lot,Such experiments from the new feature of what is no longer so tangled it。

Ready to work

You need an already deployed vCenter,Web Client ESXi host server,This is not to say。

You need an ssh client (for example putty),Because the next step is to modify the host in a file。

Open dry!

All right,Since this is in someone else encounter when debugging,So now I do not have the natural environment can not be shot,I'll try to describe,End of the article will give two reference page,One is the Traditional,One is the English word,Both are graphic tutorials,But I hope you can brush the page picture XD

first step,Please open the ssh service ESXi

The specific configuration I do not speak,Because it seems to be open by default,But I troubleshooting the machine is turned off,In short, under your Baidu open ssh method and then open it the line。

Next, use the ssh client to log in to your ESXi host up,IP address is the address of the host administration,Natural username is root,You manage this password is used when ESXi host password,When you install ESXi also set the password,Go after,I hope you have some basic console commands ......

modify/etc / vmware / config This document:

The second step add a virtual machine

This nothing to say,Select Custom,Then focus on the type of virtual machine inside you may not find on ESXi type option in the "other" in,If there is no,Please select the linux RHEL6 x64,That is uppermost。

Please select E1000 NIC;

Then another point is the hard disk drive model,please choose"LSI Logic "Remember not to select the virtual like,Otherwise undetectable hard disk;

The third step is to modify the configuration

Do not rush to go at this time to start the virtual machine,You do not have good configuration。

Continue to modify the virtual machine's configuration,For example, add a disc image or something,Then the focus is on the type common at this time inside the system "Others" should have the option in the ESXi! Do not be discouraged if you do not,RHEL can be kept unchanged。

In the CPU virtualization inside select "Use Intel Vt-x/AMD-V for instruction set virtualization and Intel EPT/AMD RVI for MMU virtualization"Keyword is RVI,In fact, the last one,Do not choose the wrong。

At last,Start the virtual machine to start installing it

Finally, if there is a warning not support hardware virtualization during installation,You may not modify /etc / vmware / config This document,Or modify unsuccessful,If you are determined to get rid of,Then restart the physical host should no longer have。Other,Modify the BIOS in the virtual machine inside seems to be no necessary。

In short

So we can continue to install ESXi ESXi in the,The last encounter a problem that needs to be verified on promiscuous mode,Among the physical machine, then turn promiscuous mode,It will lead to interoperability between virtual machines in question,Open promiscuous mode on virtual ESXi should be the right way,But I have not had time to do so,If the theory is not open,Will lead to the virtual ESXi client can not communicate with the upper client ...... Well,In short it is experiencing network problems, please switch promiscuous mode XD

 

Thank these two authors

I refer to the process of elimination of their articles。They areHereandHere

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » How to install ESXi ESXi?

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/546.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

如何在ESXi中再安装ESXi?

在虚拟机中安装虚拟机

我想已经不是什么神秘的事情了,VM的虚拟机可以安装VM的ESXi来作为实验环境,但这样终究受限于个人电脑的能力水平,做起实验测试什么的还是会让人十分懊恼,所以,这次我们将尝试在一台真实的ESXi服务器上来安装ESXi,这样应当会比在虚拟机中安装多台ESXi性能要提升不少,这样实验起新的feature什么的也就不再那么让人纠结了吧。

准备工作

你需要一台已经部署了vCenter,Web Client的ESXi主机服务器,这个就不说了。

你需要一个ssh客户端(比如说putty),因为接下来的步骤中需要修改主机里的某个文件。

开干!

好了,由于这是在帮别人排错时候遇到的,所以我现在手头没有环境自然无法截图,我就尽量描述,文章末尾会给出两个参考页面,一个是繁体字,一个是英文字,这两个均是图文教程,不过我希望你能刷出页面中的图片XD

第一步,请先打开ESXi的ssh服务

具体的配置方法我就不讲了,因为好像默认是开着的,但我排错的那台机器却是关闭的,总之你百度下开ssh的方法然后打开它就行。

接下来使用ssh客户端登陆到你的ESXi主机上去,IP地址就是主机的管理地址,用户名自然就是root,密码是你管理这台ESXi主机时候使用的密码,也是你安装ESXi时候设定的那个密码,进去之后,我希望你有一定的控制台命令基础……

 修改/etc/vmware/config 这个文件:

第二步添加虚拟机

这个没什么说的,请选择自定义,然后重点是虚拟机种类里边你可能在“其他”里找不到关于ESXi的类型选项,如果没有,请选择linux RHEL6 x64那个,就是最上边的那个。

网卡请选择E1000;

然后另外一个点就是硬盘模式,请选择“LSI Logic”记住不要选择虚拟就好,否则检测不到硬盘;

第三步修改配置

这个时候不要急着就去启动虚拟机,你还没有配置好呢。

继续修改虚拟机的配置,比如添加光盘镜像什么的,然后重点是在通用里边这时候系统的类型“其他”里应该已经可以选择ESXi了!如果没有不要灰心,保持RHEL不变即可。

在CPU虚拟化里边选择“Use Intel Vt-x/AMD-V for instruction set virtualization and Intel EPT/AMD RVI for MMU virtualization”关键字是RVI,其实就是最后一个,不要选错了。

最后,启动虚拟机来开始安装吧

如果安装过程中最后有个警告说不支持硬件虚拟化,那你可能没有修改/etc/vmware/config 这个文件,或者修改不成功,如果你确定改掉了,那就重启一下物理主机应该就不会再有了。另外,在虚拟机里边修改BIOS好像没什么必要。

总之

如此便可以在ESXi中继续安装ESXi了,最后遇到一个问题有待验证就是关于混杂模式的,在物理机器当中开启混杂模式的话,会导致虚拟机之间互通有问题,在虚拟的ESXi上开启混杂模式应该是正确的方式,不过我没有来得及这么做,理论上是如果不开启,就会导致虚拟ESXi中的客户机不能与上层客户机互通……好吧,总之一点就是遇到网络问题请开关混杂模式XD

 

感谢这两篇文章的作者

我的排除过程参考了他们的文章。分别是这里这里

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注