Categories
Swift

ios VoiceOver support for visually impaired users

In fact, few users know,ios system is actually a complete set of easy access mechanism,Many blind or visually impaired users prefer to useiphone

So,As a developer,I think both in terms of product sales or as a side responsibility,We should do well to easily access support。

Fortunately, however,,Thanks to Apple's strict development standards,It is generally as long as your app can be added to already approved,So basically VoiceOver It has been able to identify most of your app in the,More generic,For example tabView,such as navigationController,These general frameworks have the automatic support of。Now,We take a look,How to make good use of your app VoiceOver All the advanced features,These features allow you to control to some extent VoiceOver,To make it more compatible with your app,Allowing users to experience better perfect。

main target

VoiceOver can read the contents of the screen in addition to outside,In fact, content can do more,For example, to interact with the interface,For example, the built-in magic pat,Magic Returns,We make customized content to support it,We need to rewrite their own corresponding methods,Let us also own custom buttons,The way you want to operate - after all use VoiceOver users is by listening,So sometimes we also need to add more buttons, etc. to explain,Even,After some action,Also have VoiceOver read specific content to tell the user what happened,These are standardized,So visually impaired users can easily use the app you developed。

VoiceOver running state

To be VoiceOver support,So too we must first be able to find its status - although in fact in most cases you do not need to do,Because you do more configuration for VoiceOver,If VoiceOver is not open, then,Would not have any effect,But if you want to detect what words,In UIKit has a corresponding global function:

of course,You can also do not like me in one package,I was to own the whole code look more consistent Bale。

Setting readable

For a custom control,You need to manually specify whether you want it as a control VoiceOver:

Control Role

ios for the controls provide some common characters can be configured,Such as a button,For example, the volume keys,Set the appropriate role for the proper control of your control,This helps you control VoiceOver provides additional functionality corresponding。

for example,For keyboard buttons,Necessary to remove the button button while using the keypad buttons character roles,Only in this way,Users can be achieved by sliding your finger on the keyboard,Then when you need to find the button,Release your finger pressed to perform the operation immediately。

of course,In fact, these roles can be more than,We can see this type of role is actually a large integer adoption of the final declaration: public typealias UIAccessibilityTraits = UInt64 So we can:

Here is the way I translate what we declared in the translation,Specific features we all need to try。

Magic pat

This is a very common gesture,Is double-click with two fingers on the screen。For example, in off grid input method,It is used to quickly return to the first candidate (when you turn back for a long time)。If you want to monitor this action,He was overridden in the corresponding Controller accessibilityPerformMagicTap

return true To tell the system,VoiceOver receiving operation,return false Skip to illustrate,Send content to other recipients。

Magic Returns

Magic returned the gesture a bit difficult,But a little practice should not be a difficult thing,In short,In places such as navigationController able to return in two fingers back and forth about what is to perform a magic returns。Or by falling input method, for example sub-grid,So magic is performed on the keyboard to return to hide keyboard:

Manually alert

Then,How can the initiative to send content to the user prompts it? For example, "the keyboard to enter the expression"? Then you can do:

So VO will read your content after you call it sends a notification,So,Remember to do localization。

The same time,It is worth mentioning that,If you send multiple notifications simultaneously,Then the notification back to the front of the notification will be overwritten! For example, this:

Then you get it is likely to be "keyboard to enter the expression" or "keyboard to enter Pinyin",The other two are lost。

For example, in Georgia there before falling input method version,There has been a bug,That's the word can not be read in VO deleted。For visually impaired users this is a very important issue,Because if you do not read it if they are not sure what is deleted,It is really terrible。And worse than this,My own local test is completely normal!

So,We must pay attention to this issue,Send notification does not necessarily have to be in the main thread (if you're like me, then common concurrent),But be sure to pay attention to spacing,After analysis,Eventually I came to understand,When you click delete on your keyboard,Then as a third-party keyboard,I must call to remove the built-api,But this will delete trigger UI changes (because the text has changed, right?) VoiceOver will go innocently report the cursor position,Obviously,Usually mistyped the last word is certainly the majority,So naturally bug it would read "text at the bottom."。

At this moment,Just notice slower than the system just fine,(Notification system than you want to slow down hair,So it is always covered my notice even if I put it deleted after the call),So,I like this deal:

In short,So slow 0.1 seconds for the user they can not find any difference,However, for the system,,That is, with enough time for VO receipt notification system,We had a chance to read your notification was given overwritten。

Manually change focus

When the user clicks the keyboard,After doing some operations or,We need to let the VO automatically move the focus to the top,A typical case is that you click on the button keyboard,Candidate column will update new candidate word,This time the focus is moved to speak first candidate will be very easy to use。Because in that case,Users can double-click on the screen to select it directly。So,I do it this way:

The second parameter is the actual control to get the focus of a reference,After this notification,VO will immediately move the focus to and read out its contents on this space。

Summary

Basically,For VoiceOver test,You can not be completed in xcode,Tool that comes with it can only support the easiest way to check,Want to test your complete support VO,You should install the app on your iphone,Then open VoiceOver,Close your eyes and go personally used some,If you are not good at VoiceOver can successfully use your app,That should be no big problem。

all above,I was made to drop the grid input ios platform VoiceOver support life experience the best of the Chinese input method。?

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » ios VoiceOver support for visually impaired users

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/2322.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

One reply on “ios VoiceOver support for visually impaired users”

[…] Two years ago,Article I wrote an article entitled "ios for the visually impaired user support VoiceOver" of,Inside describes how iOS end of the necessary support for VoiceOver,Then I developed a pocketed end of the input method macOS,But unfortunately due macOS own system bug,Third-party input method can not obtain focus VoiceOver (mainly 10.13 And below),So I will not have too much attention - even until the end of this input method throughout the life cycle failed to achieve support for VoiceOver,It is regrettable。 […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ios 为视障用户支持 VoiceOver

其实很少用户知道,ios系统其实有一套完整的轻松访问机制,很多盲人或者说视障用户都喜欢使用iphone

所以说,作为一名开发者,我觉得不论是从产品销售面还是作为责任,都应该做好完善的轻松访问支持。

不过好在,得益于苹果严格的开发规范,所以一般只要你的app已经通过审核能够上架,那么基本上 VoiceOver 就已经能够很好的识别你 app 中的大部分内容了,比较通用的,比如 tabView,比如 navigationController,这些通用的框架都已经自动支持了的。现在,我们就一起来看看,如何让你的 app 利用好 VoiceOver 的所有高级功能,这些功能能够让你在一定程度上控制 VoiceOver,让它更好地兼容你的app,让用户体验更佳完美。

主要目标

VoiceOver 除了能够读出屏幕内容外,其实还可以做更多的内容,比如与界面交互,比如内置的魔法轻拍,魔法返回,要让我们自定义的内容支持它,就需要自己去重写对应的方法,还要让我们自己定制的按钮,按照希望的方式来运作——毕竟使用 VoiceOver 的用户是靠听的,所以有时候我们还需要为按钮等加上更多解释,甚至,在一些动作之后,还要让 VoiceOver 读出特定的内容来告知用户都发生了什么,把这些都规范了,那么视障用户也能轻松地使用你开发的 app 了。

VoiceOver 运行状态

要对 VoiceOver 进行支持,那么得先要能发现它的状态——虽然其实大部分情况下你不需要这么做,因为你在对 VoiceOver 做多配置,如果 VoiceOver 不开启的话,就不会有任何影响,但如果你希望检测一下的话,在 UIKit 里有对应的全局函数:

当然,你也可以不用像我这样在封装一层,我是为了自己整体代码看起来更一致罢了。

设定可读

对于一个自定义的控件,你需要手动地来为它指定是否要作为一个 VoiceOver 控件:

控件角色

ios 为控件提供了一些常见的角色可以配置,比如按钮,比如音量键,为你的控件设定合适恰当的控件角色,这有助于 VoiceOver 为你的控件提供对应的额外功能。

举例来说,对于键盘按钮,就要给按钮去掉按钮角色而使用键盘按钮角色,只有这样,用户才能实现用手指在键盘上滑动,然后找到需要的按钮时,松开手指立即执行按下的操作。

当然,其实这些角色可以是多个,我们通过最后的声明可以看到这个角色类型其实就是一个大的整数: public typealias UIAccessibilityTraits = UInt64 所以我们可以这样:

这里我顺便为大家翻译一下声明里的翻译,具体的特性需要大家自己去尝试。

魔法轻拍

这是一个很常用的手势,就是双指在屏幕上双击。比如说在落格输入法中,它用来快速返回第一个候选(当你往后翻了很久的时候)。如果你想监听这个动作,就在对应的 Controller 里重写  accessibilityPerformMagicTap :

返回 true 来告诉系统,VoiceOver 接收了操作,返回 false 来说明跳过,将内容发送给其他接受者。

魔法返回

魔法返回的手势有点难了,但稍微练习一下应该也不是什么难事,总之,在能够返回的地方比如 navigationController 中双指左右来回一下就是执行了一次魔法返回。还是用落格输入法举例子,那么就是在键盘上执行魔法返回来收起键盘:

手动发出提示

那么,怎么才能主动给用户发出内容提示呢?比如“进入表情键盘”?那么你可以这样:

那么VO就会在你调用它发送通知后读出你的内容,所以,记得要做本地化。

同时,值得一提的是,如果你同时发送多条通知,那么后面的通知会把前边的通知给覆盖掉!比如这样:

那么你得到的很可能是“进入表情键盘”或“进入拼音键盘”,其它的两个就丢失了。

还有比如说在落格输入法之前的版本中,一直存在一个bug,那就是VO里无法读出删除的字。这对于视障用户来说是一件很重要的问题,因为如果你不读出来的话他们就不能确定自己删除了啥,那可真是糟糕透了。而且比这还糟糕的是,我自己本地测试是完全正常的!

所以说,一定要注意这个问题,发送通知不需要一定要在主线程(如果你和我一样常用并发的话),但一定要注意间隔,经过分析,最终我才明白,当你在键盘上点击了删除,那么作为一款第三方键盘,我必须调用内置的api来删除,可是这个删除会触发UI改变(因为文字变了对吧?)VoiceOver就会去傻傻地报告光标位置,显然,一般输入错了肯定是最后一个字居多,那么自然bug就成了读“文本底部”。

这时候,只需要比系统的通知慢就好了,(系统通知比你发的要慢一点,所以它老是覆盖我的通知即使我把它放在了删除调用之后),所以,我这样处理了:

总之,慢这么0.1秒对用户来说他们发现不了什么区别,但对于系统来说,那就是有了足够的时间让VO在收到系统的通知后,还来不及读出就被你的通知给覆盖掉了。

手动改变焦点

当用户点了键盘,或者说做了一些操作之后,我们需要让VO自动将焦点移动到上边,典型的情况就是你在点击了键盘按钮后,候选栏会更新新的候选词,这个时候讲焦点移动到第一个候选就会很好用。因为这样的话,用户就可以双击屏幕直接选中它了。所以,我这样做:

第二个实际参数就是要获得焦点的控件引用,这样收到通知后,VO会立即将焦点移动到这个空间上并读出它的内容。

总结

基本上来说,对于 VoiceOver 的测试,你是无法在 xcode 中完成的,它所附带的工具仅仅能够支持最简单的检查,想要完整地测试你的VO支持,你应该把app安装到你的 iphone 上,然后打开VoiceOver,闭上眼睛去亲自使用一番,如果不擅长 VoiceOver 的你都能顺利地使用你的app,那应该就没什么大问题了。

以上这些,就是我把落格输入法做成 ios 平台 VoiceOver 支持最好的中文输入法的人生经验了。😉

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注