Categories
Mac OS Exchange of Experience

Use a third-party mouse without a driver on macOS

All to known,macOS to third partiesmouseVery picky,If it is an ordinary office mouse,That almost works,At most, the fixed DPI requires adjusting the mouse speed.,But if it goes up to a gaming mouse with more buttons,There are many problems。

Not necessarily for playing games,For example, a mouse with forward and back buttons is very useful when writing code。

In General,The mouse of the famous manufacturer will support macOS better,Mainly because the big factory has the energy to make a mouse for macOSdrive,If a mouse is natively driven by Windows only,Then the more buttons it has will not be well recognized by macOS,A high-end mouse bought at a big price becomes disabled on macOS。

How to buy a mouse with stable Bluetooth connection under macOS,Become a permanent pain for Mac users。


Even a big factory like Logitech,Their drive is not so stable,Except for the mouse itself, it freezes after a period of use[1]Outside the question,There is also caused by the driver,Every interval,The macro set by the mouse will be invalid,It becomes what it looks like without a driver,Open the setup software,It doesn’t even recognize the mouse,You can only turn off the mouse at this time,Reopen and reconnect,And then continue to work。Even,The driver service itself will often get stuck,Cause Hot Wheels...

Isn't there these drivers,Can the mouse really not work? Why does macOS always default the side buttons of the mouse to the strange expose function,Instead of going forward and backward?

After groping for a while,I seem to have found a more feasible solution。


Third-party mouse button management tool

In macOS system preferences,Find the "Mission Control" tab,Remove the hotkey about the mouse in it to avoid being recognized as expose,After this setting, there is no need to use Karabiner to correct the mouse button recognition 🤷‍♂️

1、Use Karabiner to correct mouse button recognition

There are many tools for key mapping,Many of them also support mouse button mapping... but the difficulty is that the mouse button4 or button5 will be fixedly recognized as expose by the system,As a result, most mouse button mapping tools cannot recognize this button-except for the official driver。

Karabiner-Elements can solve this problem,The method of operation is a bit tricky,The first of course is to check your mouse in the Devices of Karabiner-Elements:

Enable management of Logitech mouse
Enable management of Logitech mouse

After doing this,Go to the first tab, Simple modifications add to the mouse button4 or 5 Mapping,Although in Karabiner-EventViewer, you can’t actually see the signal of mouse button4,But this does not prevent you from mapping it... it is mapped to button6! (Actually,It should be mapped to any button that does not exist on your mouse)

After this mapping,You will find that this key will no longer trigger expose,At this time, we use other software to map the mouse button function (as a third-party driver).。

Map the 4 buttons of the mouse to the 6 buttons that do not exist
Map the 4 buttons of the mouse to the 6 buttons that do not exist

note,Target device must be selected as the mouse we checked before,Otherwise invalid。

2、Use software such as BetterTouchTool to manage mouse buttons

After fixing the mouse button function,You can use any tool that supports mapping mouse buttons to map,No need for Logitech's official junk driver anymore。

In addition to the BetterTouchTool mentioned in this article,In theory, you can also try USB Overdrive or SteerMouse. These tools need to be paid for authorization.。Actually you can continue to use Karabiner,But its configuration is too complicated,After all, we have to set different mouse functions according to different software (such as Xcode and VSCode,The shortcut keys for forward and backward are different,Of course, forward and backward in the browser is another key combination)。

Set the mouse button function in BetterTouchTool

Now these software should recognize the mouse buttons correctly,All you have to do is set up their mapping according to your needs,If you are using BetterTouchTool,Then pay attention to the set mode selection as "Normal Mouse"。

 

At last,Attach a metaphysical setting,If your Bluetooth mouse freezes,That may also be a problem of macOS itself,Try to adjust the network service order in the network settings,Drag "Bluetooth PAN" to the first position (rest assured,You can hardly use it,This will not affect any of your network functions),Then you may find that the mouse is not stuck...

 

Last,If you find that some of the mouse buttons fail after uninstalling the mouse driver,Then you need to remove the mouse from macOS and pair it again。


[1] Many of my Bluetooth mice were pretty good when they first bought it,Can be used with,It got stuck after a few months,Frequent disconnection and frame loss,It’s hard to define the reason-after all,It can be used normally under Windows。

Original article written by Gerber drop-off:R0uter's Blog » Use a third-party mouse without a driver on macOS

Reproduced Please keep the source and description link:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3428.html

By R0uter's Blog

The non-declaration,I have written articles are original,Reproduced, please indicate the link on this page and my name。

One reply on “Use a third-party mouse without a driver on macOS”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

分类
Mac OS 分享交流

在 macOS 上无驱动使用第三方鼠标

众所周知,macOS 对第三方鼠标挑剔的很,如果是普通的办公鼠标,那几乎还能凑合用,固定的 DPI 顶多就是需要调调鼠标速度罢了,但如果上升到按键多一些的游戏鼠标,就有很多问题了。

不一定是用来打游戏,比如带有前进后退按钮的鼠标在写代码时非常实用。

一般来说,名厂大牌的鼠标会对 macOS 支持较好,主要是因为大厂有精力为 macOS 做鼠标驱动,如果一个鼠标原生就只有 Windows 驱动,那它带有的更多按键就不能很好的被 macOS 识别,花大价钱买的高级鼠标在 macOS 上成了残废。

如何买到一款能在 macOS 下蓝牙稳定连接的鼠标,成了 Mac 用户心头永远的痛。


即使是像罗技这样的大厂,他们的驱动也并不那么稳定,除了鼠标本身“用一段时间后就卡顿[1]”的问题外,还有就是驱动造成的,每间隔一段时间,鼠标设定的宏就会失效,变成了没装驱动时的样子,打开设置软件,甚至它都没有识别到鼠标,这时只能关掉鼠标,再打开重新连接,然后再继续工作。甚至,驱动服务自己也会经常性卡死,导致风火轮……

难道没有这些驱动,鼠标就真的不能用吗?为什么 macOS 总是把鼠标的侧键默认为奇怪的 expose 功能,而不是前进后退呢?

在摸索了一段时间后,我似乎找到了一个比较可行的解决方案。


第三方鼠标按键管理工具

在 macOS 系统偏好设置中,找到“Mission Control”的选项卡,在其中将关于鼠标的热键去掉即可避免识别为 expose 了,这么设置之后就不需要使用 Karabiner 修正鼠标按键识别了 🤷‍♂️

1、用 Karabiner 修正鼠标按键识别

按键映射的工具有很多,其中不少也支持鼠标的按键映射……但难点就是鼠标的 button4 或 button5 会被系统固定识别为 expose,从而导致绝大多数鼠标按键映射工具无法识别这个按键——除了官方驱动。

使用 Karabiner-Elements 可以解决这个问题,操作方法有点 tricky,首先当然是要在 Karabiner-Elements 的 Devices 中勾选你的鼠标:

启用对罗技鼠标的管理
启用对罗技鼠标的管理

这样做之后,再到第一个选项卡, Simple modifications 中添加对鼠标 button4 或 5 的映射,虽然在 Karabiner-EventViewer 中其实也看不到鼠标 button4 的信号,但这并不妨碍你映射它……映射成 button6!(实际上,应该是映射到任意一个你鼠标上不存在的按键)

这样映射之后,你就会发现这个键不会再触发 expose 了,这时我们使用其他软件映射鼠标按键功能(当作第三方驱动)的基础。

将鼠标4键映射到不存在的6键上
将鼠标4键映射到不存在的6键上

注意,Target device 一定要选择为之前我们勾选的鼠标,否则无效。

2、使用 BetterTouchTool 等软件管理鼠标按键

修正了鼠标按键功能后,你就可以使用任意支持映射鼠标按键的工具进行映射了,再也不需要罗技官方的垃圾驱动。

除了本文提到的 BetterTouchTool 外,理论上你也可以尝试 USB Overdrive 或者 SteerMouse 这些工具都是需要付费购买授权的。其实你也可以继续使用 Karabiner,但它的配置实在是太复杂了,毕竟我们要根据不同的软件设置不同的鼠标功能(比如Xcode 和 VSCode 中,前进和后退的快捷键就是不同的,当然在浏览器中的前进后退又是另外一种按键组合)。

在 BetterTouchTool 中设置鼠标按键功能

现在这些软件应该都能正确识别鼠标的按钮了,你要做的就是按照你的需要将它们的映射设置好,如果你使用的是 BetterTouchTool,那要注意设定的模式选择为“Normal Mouse”。

 

最后,附上一个玄学设定,如果你的蓝牙鼠标卡顿,那也可能是 macOS 自己的问题,尝试到网络设置中调整网络服务排序,将“Bluetooth PAN”拖动到第一位(放心,你几乎用不到它,这么做不会影响你的任何网络功能),然后你可能就会发现鼠标不卡了……

 

最最后,如果你发现卸载鼠标驱动后鼠标部分按键失灵失效,那就需要将鼠标从 macOS 中删除然后重新配对。


[1] 我的多款蓝牙鼠标都是刚买的时候还算不错,可随着使用,几个月后就变得卡顿,经常性断开以及丢帧,很难界定是什么原因——毕竟,在 Windows 下它又是可以完全正常使用的。

本文由 落格博客 原创撰写:落格博客 » 在 macOS 上无驱动使用第三方鼠标

转载请保留出处和原文链接:https://www.logcg.com/archives/3428.html

落格博客

如非声明,本人所著文章均为原创手打,转载请注明本页面链接和我的名字。

“在 macOS 上无驱动使用第三方鼠标”上的一条回复

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注